Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites


National Merit Scholarship Corporation officials on Tuesday announced the names of about 16,000 semifinalists in the 62nd-annual National Merit Scholarship Program — and several of the Oregon winners attend Lake Oswego, Lakeridge or Riverdale high schools.

The local winners are:

• Lakeridge High School: Calvin Seneker, Madeleine Vergun, Albert Wang and Claire Williams

• Lake Oswego High School: Sammy Barkal, Lauren Cooper, Jackson Friess, Benjamin He, Eric Klein, Morgan Lloyd, Connor Pancoast, Nicolas Quattromani, Allison Regan, Rhys Richmond, Reed Slobodin, Ethan Storts and Anika Todt

• Riverdale High School: Simon Chuang, Benjamin Goldberg and William Klein.

• Oregon Episcopal School: Henry Talbott of Lake Oswego

• Jesuit High School: Madeleine Aronson of Lake Oswego

These high school seniors now can compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships that are worth about $33 million and will be offered next spring. However, semifinalists must first fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level.

— The Review