Taking the fiction award is Joyce Cherry Cresswell of Portland

The winners of the 2017 Oregon Book Awards were announced on Monday.

Top honors were given to Oregon writers in the genres of poetry, fiction, drama, literary nonfiction and literature.

Oregon authors with an original publication date between August 1, 2015, and July 31, 2016, were eligible.


Ken Kesey Award for Fiction — Joyce Cherry Cresswell, of Portland, "A Great Length of Time"

Stafford/Hall Award for Poetry — Joe Wilkins, of McMinnville, "When We Were Birds"

Frances Fuller Victor Award for General Nonfiction — Tracy Daugherty, of Corvallis, "The Last Love Song: A Biography of Joan Didon"

Sarah Winnemucca Award for Creative Nonfiction — Walidah Imarisha, of Portland, "Angels With Dirty Faces"

Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award for Children's Literature — Kate Berube, of Portland, "Hannah and Sugar"

Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature — Deborah Hopkinson, of West Linn, "Courage & Defiance: Stories of Spies, Saboteurs, and Survivors in World War II Denmark"

Angus Bowmer Award for Drama — Cindy Williams Gutierrez, of Portland, "Words that Burn"

Readers Choice Award — Eliot Treichel, of Eugene, "A Series of Small Maneuvers"

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine