Failed loading XML file.
StartTag: invalid element name
Extra content at the end of the document



Each sport will be recognized at annual Oregon Sports Awards

A host of new prep categories and new host Neil Everett from ESPN will spice the 61st annual Oregon Sports Awards.

The stage show takes place Sunday night, Feb. 10 at Nike's Tiger Woods Center.

Everett, a SportsCenter anchor and commentator, is a 1984 University of Oregon graduate with extensive ties to the state. He'll oversee the production, which also will feature various celebrity award presenters to be announced and is scheduled to run about 90 minutes.

The OSA motto is "Make History. Be History." And the stars of the show will be the many finalists and winners of 30-plus awards — athletes, coaches and contributors from the ranks of professionals, collegians, other amateurs, high school and Oregon communities.

For the first time, these expanded Oregon Sports Awards will honor high school athletes from every sport sanctioned by the Oregon School Activities Association, with finalists from the 6A through 1A classifications and around the state.

The other award categories have been part of the show before — some of them dating to the event's inception in 1948 as the Hayward Banquet of Champions.

The OSA will give trophies to the Bill Hayward Amateur Athletes of the Year (male and female), the Harry Glickman Pro Athletes of the Year (male and female), the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year, the George Pasero Teams of the Year, the Ad Rutschman Small-College Athletes of the Year (male and female), the Johnny Carpenter Prep Athletes of the Year (male and female, 6A-5A and 4A-1A) and the Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.

The new high school awards will go to the state's top competitors in football, boys and girls soccer, volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, wrestling, boys and girls swimming, baseball, softball, boys and girls track and field, boys and girls golf, and boys and girls tennis.

A statewide panel of experts votes on the awards. And, for the first time, fans also can have a say in who takes home the top honors — online voting will be from Jan. 25 through Feb. 8 at oregonsportsawards.com.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. for a preshow reception with light hors d'oeuvres and beverages.

The show starts at 7 p.m.

Coffee and desserts will be served after the production.

Tickets are $50 each. To order or for more information, contact Chelsea Corrado at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 503-721-7477, ext. 24.

Visit www.oregonsportsawards.com for extensive information on the show, its history and awards.

Also, follow the event on Twitter (@ORSportsAwards) and Facebook (Oregon Sports Awards).

Contract Publishing

Go to top