Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

UO women win fourth consecutive NCAA indoor crown


FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Oregon Ducks are NCAA women's indoor track and field champions for the fourth year in a row.

Only LSU, which won five in a row from 1993-97, has matched Oregon's title run.

The Ducks' latest crown came Saturday night at Randal Tyson Center, where a victory in the final event, the 4x400-meter relay, secured first place with 56 points.

Kansas took second with 44 points, LSU was third with 43, and host Arkansas earned fourth with 42 1/2.

English Gardner, Chizoba Okodogbe, Laura Roesler and Phyllis Francis won the closing relay in a school-record 3 minutes, 30.22 seconds. Leadoff runner Gardner gave Oregon a lead it never relinquished.

The Oregon men, led by Elijah Greer's win in the 800, tied for sixth with 22 points. Arkansas won with 74. Florida (59), Wisconsin (33), Texas A&M (30) and Texas Tech (28) also placed higher than the Ducks. Arizona matched Oregon in the scoring.

UO junior Boru Guyota, from Jefferson High, placed eighth in the 800.