May 17 Primary Election will decide some nonpartisan races

A number of local political races effectively ended with Tuesday's filing deadline. Only one candidate filed in each of two Multnomah County races and one Metro race.

Because these are nonpartisan races, whoever gets over 50 percent of the vote wins in the May 17 Primary Election. Barring a record-setting write-in challenge, these three candidates are already guaranteed victory.

One is Rod Underhill, who is running for Multnomah County District Attorney. He is currently the Chief Deputy District Attorney in charge of the Family and Community Justice Division.

Another is Multnomah County Commissioner Diane McKeel. She is running for re-election in District 4.

The third is Tigard Mayor Craig Dirksen. He is running for Metro Council District 3.

A number of other nonpartisan local races will also be decided in the Primary Election because only two candidates have filed for them, meaning that one will receive over 50 percent of the vote.

These races include the other two Multnomah County Commission seats that are up for re-election. District 1 incumbent Deborah Kafoury is only being challenged by Wes Soderback, who lists his background as a system integrator. And the only candidate challenging incumbent Judy Shiprack is Patricia Burkett, who lists her occupation as political candidate.

The Metro Council District 6 race will also be decided in May. The only two candidates are former 1000 Friends of Oregon executive director Bob Stacy and Jonathan Levine, a Portland State University student.

All of the Portland City Council races have attracted more than two candidates, increasing the possibility that one or more of them might not be decided until the November General Election.

Twenty-three candidates have filed for mayor. Based on fundraising and organizing to date, the major ones are New Seasons co-founder Eileen Brady, former City Commissioner Charlie Hales and State Rep. Jefferson Smith.

Four candidates have filed to challenge Position 1 incumbent Amanda Fritz. Her strongest opponent is considered to be State rep. Mary Nolan.

Seven candidates have filed for the Position 4 seat being vacated by Randy Leonard. The strongest candidate is considered to be political activist Steve Novick, although both sports promoter Brian Parrott and human rights activist Jeri Williams have some community connections.

If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote in these races in May, the top two vote-getters face off in the Nov. 6 general election.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine