Featured Stories

Local Weather

Mostly Cloudy



Mostly Cloudy

Humidity: 97%

Wind: 5 mph

  • 26 May 2015

    Partly Cloudy 70°F 52°F

  • 27 May 2015

    Sunny 80°F 54°F

Brush fire closes part of I-5

Photo Credit: PORTLAND FIRE & RESCUE - Most of I-5 North was closed because of a brush fire in a homeless camp Tuesday afternoon.A brush fire that started at a homeless camp closed a portion of I-5 in North Portland during Tuesday afternoon's rush hour.

No one was injured in the fire, although firefighters had trouble reaching it with water.

According to Portland Fire & Rescue, at at 5:06 p.m. on Dec. 9, crews were called to a brush fire just off of I-5 near 9240 N. Whitaker Rd., which is next to the Columbia Slough). Firefighters arrived and found a 20' X 40' brush fire burning in a homeless camp. They searched the area, but didn't find anyone nearby.

PF&R says the fire was difficult to reach and required firefighters to stretch hoses for long distances over rough terrain. The fire was extinguished and a fire investigator was called to determine what caused it.

Portions of I-5 North were closed while firefighters fought the fire, but it reopened after the fire was extinguished.