Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Washington County forum sets candidates for fall programs

Election candidates will appear at the first seven programs of the 2016-17 season of the Washington County Public Affairs Forum, which is in its 60th year.

Programs start at noon Monday, Sept. 12, at the Peppermill Restaurant, 17455 SW Farmington Rd., Aloha. Lunch is available for purchase. Only forum members may ask questions at the events.

The schedule is below. All candidates have been invited, but unless specifically noted, the listings indicate only who is running, not whether candidates have agreed to appear.

More information:


Sept. 12: Candidates for House districts 29 and 33. Democrat Susan McLain of Forest Grove is seeking a second term in District 29; she is also the nominee of the Independent and Working Families parties. The Republican nominee is Juanita Lint of Forest Grove.

Democrat Mitch Greenlick of Portland, also the Independent Party nominee, is seeking an eighth term in District 33. John Verbeek is the Republican nominee.

Sept. 19: Candidates for House District 24 and Hillsboro mayor; also Mark Callahan of Portland, Republican nominee for U.S. senator.

The open District 24 seat has two candidates: Ken Moore of Yamhill, Democrat/Working Families, and Ron Noble of McMinnville, Republican/Independent. Steve Calloway and Aron Carleson are running to succeed Jerry Willey as Hillsboro mayor, a nonpartisan position.

Sept. 26: Candidates for House District 30; also Bud Pierce of Salem, Republican nominee for governor. (Democratic incumbent Kate Brown will not appear.)

The open District 30 seat has three candidates, all from Hillsboro: Janeen Sollman, Democrat/Working Families; Dan Mason, Republican/Independent, and Kyle Markley, Libertarian.

Also a presentation on the Nov. 8 ballot measure by the Tualatin Soil and Water Conservation District for a permanent tax rate at 9 cents per $1,000 of assessed value.

Oct. 3: Candidates for state treasurer, which has no incumbent running. Candidates are Tobias Read of Beaverton, Democrat; Jeff Gudman of Lake Oswego, Republican; Chris Telfer of Bend, Independent, and Chris Henry of Gladstone, Progressive.

Oct. 10: Candidates for secretary of state, which has no incumbent running. Candidates are Brad Avakian of Beaverton, Democrat/Progressive/Working Families; Dennis Richardson of Central Point, Republican; Paul Damian Wells of Corvallis, Independent; Michael Marsh of Salem, Constitution; Alan Zuniel of Eugene, Pacific Green; Sharon Durbin of Lyons, Libertarian.

Oct. 17: Candidates for the 1st District congressional seat, which takes in all of Washington County. Candidates are Democrat Suzanne Bonamici of Beaverton, also the Independent nominee, seeking a third full term; Republican Brian Heinrich of Dundee, and Libertarian Kyle Sheahan of Hillsboro.

Oct. 24: Candidates for House districts 26, 34 and 35.

The open District 26 seat has two candidates, Ray Lister of Wilsonville, Democrat/Independent/Working Families, and Richard Vial of Hillsboro, Republican. Democrat Ken Helm of Beaverton, also the Working Families nominee, is seeking a second term in District 34; Donald Hershiser is the Republican nominee. Democrat Margaret Doherty of Tigard, also the Working Families nominee, is seeking a fourth full term in District 35; Jessica Cousineau of Tigard is the Republican/Independent nominee.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.