Board chair ousted following credit union members annual meeting

The chairwoman of the board of directors for St. Helens Community Federal Credit Union failed to secure reelection at the credit union’s annual members’ meeting Tuesday evening.

Three candidates, including chairwoman Lea Chitwood, were vying for two open seats on the board. Steven A. Correll of Warren and Seth Holmes of Scappoose were elected to fill them.

“I’ve served on boards in the past,” Correll said Wednesday. “I like public service, and I decided to get back in and try to involve myself in another venture. ... Being a part of a growing enterprise like the credit union, I’m excited about the opportunity.”

Holmes could not be reached for comment before the Spotlight’s press deadline.

Tom Tussing, vice chairman of the board, was named to succeed Chitwood as chairman.

In a statement released by the credit union Wednesday, the new chairman thanked Chitwood for her service.

“Thanks in no small part to Lea’s leadership, the credit union has made outstanding progress over the last year,” Tussing was quoted as saying. “The board remains unified and committed to the strategic direction of the credit union, and we look forward to working with Steven and Seth in the months ahead.”

Brooke Van Vleet, president and chief executive officer of St. Helens Community FCU, offered support for Tussing.

“It’s been a privilege working with Lea and our board over the last year to simplify, stabilize and strengthen the credit union as a whole,” said Van Vleet in a statement. “I have full confidence that our board will continue to act in the best interest of our entire membership under Tom’s able leadership.”

St. Helens Community FCU and Wauna Federal Credit Union, another major credit union in Columbia County, briefly explored a merger last summer. The talks were ultimately called off after a number of members at both credit unions expressed their opposition.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine