Featured Stories

Local school boards name chairmen


Kessi, Jarman elected unanimously to lead boards

by: MARK MILLER - Michelle Graham (left) beams after receiving flowers from Superintendent Stephen Jupe of the Scappoose School District, upon relinquishing chairmanship of the school board to Will Kessi (right).Both the Scappoose and St. Helens school districts’ boards of directors elected new chairmen at organizational meetings this month.

The outgoing Scappoose school board chairwoman, Michelle Graham, received flowers from district Superintendent Stephen Jupe and praise from fellow board members after the board voted unanimously to elect Will Kessi as its new chairman Monday, July 14.

“It was really my pleasure to be board chair, and I had wonderful people to follow,” Graham said. “I’m a firm believer in public education and volunteerism, and I just couldn’t be more proud to serve with this board to further the mission of Scappoose School District.”

Kessi has served as vice chairman of the school board for the past two years. Graham held the position for two years before him.

Marshall Porter, chairman of the St. Helens School District’s board of directors, also turned over his gavel after two years of presiding over the school board Wednesday, July 9. The board unanimously elected Gordon Jarman, its vice chairman for the past year, as chairman after Porter made it clear he would not seek a third year at the helm.

Porter was instead elected vice chairman, meaning he will preside over meetings when Jarman is absent.

Porter’s fellow board members applauded him as he turned over Wednesday’s meeting to Jarman.