Justin McMullen increases lead over Jeremey Wetherbee in Saturday's race

by: JOHN BREWINGTON - It's a little tight in the first turn for the Modified Division in a heat race on Saturday. The race had to be restarted after the  tangle. Dan Smith (07) would eventually win this race. With two races this weekend and a championship final on Sept. 15, just two divisions have a close race remaining for the track championship.

In the Street Stock Division, Justin McMullen maintained a small lead over Jeremey Wetherbee in last Saturday’s race.

Wetherbee got off to a quick start with fast time of the day and a trophy dash win, but McMullen finished ahead of him in their heat and then won the main event. Wetherbee finished back in the pack at 12th in the main event. McMullen has the edge with the three races remaining.

In the Modified Division, Clark Tenney went into the afternoon in third-place behind second-place Clint Petty and leader Don Jenner. Tenney posted the fast time, while Petty won the trophy dash. Petty finished just ahead of Tenney in the second heat, but it was Tenney with a large win in the main event. Jenner finished behind the pair in the heat, and behind Petty in the main. Point totals weren’t available at press time but it would seem Tenney should have moved ahead of Petty. He was just six points behind going into the race. Both Tenney and Petty cut into Jenner’s lead.

Bud Russell kept his lead in the Sportsman Division, but Clyde White gained some ground. White won the trophy dash, his heat, and the main event. Russell had the fast time, was right behind White in the heat, and a close third in the main event.

With some repair work after a crash in his heat, Joel Beehler bounced back to win the main event and solidify his commanding lead in the 4-Cylinder Division. Beehler was taken out of his heat by another driver, as was Derik Beehler in the same tangle. They both had to make some furious repair work to get back in time for the main.

James Walker, who was in second 113 points back of Beehler, did gain some points with a second in the heat, a trophy dash win, and a second in the main.

Ryan Martinez continues to dominate the Dwarf Division. He went into the race with a 106-point lead and then won his heat and the main event.

There were just three cars in the Women’s Division. Susan Nelson won the trophy dash and the heat, while Jenae Frelich won the main event.

Dave Walters won the Pacific Mini Sprints main events, while Bob Westcott won the Late Model main event.

There will be racing both Saturday and Sunday this coming Labor Day weekend.

River City Speedway

Official Results


Fast time: Jeremey Wetherbee, 15:931. Trophy Dash: Jeremey Wetherbee. 1st Heat: 1. Ron Dodge; 2. RT Cutler; 3. Curtis Zelmer; 4. John Haagenson; 5. Ken Bryan 6. Mike Crase; 7. Chris Lindsay. 2nd Heat: 1. Cody Smith; 2. Corey Cook; 3. Justin McMullen; 4. Aaron Snook; 5. Gerardo Maya; 6. Steffen Strawn; 7. Jared Haynes; 8. Jeremey Wetherbee.

A Main: 1. Justin McMullen; 2. Jared Haynes; 3. Gerardo Maya; 4. John Haagenson; 5. Ken Bryan; 6. Aaron Snook; 7. RT Cutler; 8. Curtis Zelmer; 9. Steffen Strawn; 10.Chris Lindsay; 11.Cody Smith; 12.Jeremey Wetherbee; 13.Corey Cook; 14.Ron Dodge; 15.Mike Crase.


Fast time: Clark Tenney, 14:818. Trophy Dash: Clint Petty. 1st Heat: 1. Greg Greer; 2. Aaron Chappell; 3. Robert Jenner; 4. Curtis Zelmer; 5. Sean Fox; 6. Walter Prather; 7. Dave Walters. 2nd Heat: 1. Dan Smith; 2. Matt Jenner; 3. Clint Petty; 4. Clark Tenney; 5. Don Jenner; 6. Rick Graham.

A Main: 1. Clark Tenney; 2. Robert Jenner; 3. Greg Greer; 4. Matt Jenner; 5. Dave Walters; 6. Walt Prather; 7. Clint Petty; 8. Don Jenner; 9. Aaron Chappell; 10. Rick Graham; 11. Dan Smith; 12. Sean Fox.


Fast Time: Bud Russell, 15:234. Trophy Dash: Clyde White. 1st Heat: 1. Kristi Somers; 2. Travis Williams; 3. Dennis Munger; 4. Larry Wetzel; 5. Brad Beehler; 6. Bob Berg; 7. Marty Holmason. 2nd Heat: 1. Clyde White; 2. Bud Russell; 3. Eric Lindquist; 4. Ray Elwess; 5. Jake VanOrtwick.

A Main: 1. Clyde White; 2. Ray Elwess; 3. Bud Russell; 4. Brad Beehler; 5. Eric Lindquist; 6. Jake VanOrtwick; 7. Travis Williams; 8. Larry Wetzel; 9. Kristi Somers; 10. Bob Berg; 11. Marty Holmason; 12. Dennis Munger.


Fast time: Joel Beehler, 16:662. Trophy Dash: James Walker. 1st Heat: 1. Erica Asher; 2. Crystal Flath; 3. Gary Brogan; 4. Jordan Gist; 5. Tracy Sibernagel; 6. Aaron Morley. 2nd Heat: 1. Kyle Frelich; 2. James Walker; 3. Rich Gooding; 4. Jerry Winchester; 5. Derik Beehler; 6. Joel Beehler.

A Main: 1. Joel Beehler; 2. James Walker; 3. Kyle Frelich; 4. Derik Beehler; 5. Rich Gooding; 6. Jerry Winchester; 7. Gary Brogan; 8. Crystal Flath; 9. Jordan Gist; 10. Erica Asher; 11. Aaron Morley; 12. Tracy Sibernagel.


Fast time: C.J. Putnum, 14:923. Trophy Dash: C.J. Putnum. 1st Heat: 1. Ryan Martinez; 2. Dan Schmidt; 3. Steve McCleary; 4. Joe Eaton; 5. Robert O’Neill; 6. Neal Hopwood. 2nd Heat: 1. C.J. Putnam; 2. Brian Hicks; 3. Doug McVae; 4. Richard Petty.

A Main: 1. Ryan Martinez; 2. C.J. Putnum; 3. Dan Schmidt; 4. Brian Hicks; 5. Steve McCleary; 6. Doug McVae; 7. Joe Eaton; 8. Richard Petty; 9. Robert O’Neill.


Fast time: Susan Nelson, 16:369. Trophy Dash: Susan Nelson. Heat: 1. Susan Nelson; 2. Morgan Tenney; 3. Jenae Frelich.

Main: 1. Jenae Frelich; 2. Susan Nelson; 3. Morgan Tenney.


Fast time: Greg Lane, 13:452. Trophy Dash: Greg Lane. Heat: 1. Greg Lane; 2. Keith Everson

3. Dave Walters; 4. Mike Opoka; 5. Vinny Villeggiante; 6. Eric Dehning.

Main: 1. Dave Walters; 2. Greg Lane; 3. Keith Everson; 4. Mike Opoka; 5. Vinny Villeggiante; 6. Eric Dehning


Fast time: Bryce Tenney, 16:580. Trophy Dash: Olivia McDaniel. Heat: 1. Jonathan West; 2. Bryce Tenney; 3. Olivia McDaniel; 4. Darrin Crape.

Main: 1. Jonathan West; 2. Olivia McDaniel; 3. Bryce Tenney; 4. Darrin Crape.



Fast time: Bob Westcott, 14:437. Dash-4-cyl.: Bob Westcott. Dash-Late model: Curtis Zelmer. Heat: 1. Jim Stipe; 2. Bob Westcott; 3. Mike Keely; 4. Curtis Zelmer; 5. Dennis Pittsenbarger

6. Kristi Somers; 7. Jason Wesolowski; 8. Dan Prewitt; 9. Dave Wesolowski.

Main: 1. Bob Westcott; 2. Dan Prewitt; 3. Mike Keely; 4. Kristi Somers; 5. Jim Stipe; 6. Curtis Zelmer; 7. Jason Wesolowski; 8. Dennis Pittsenbarger; 9. Dave Wesolowski.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine