Tribe wrestlers give up just five matches of 28 on the evening

by: JOHN BREWINGTON - Scappoose's Kurt Mode had a good week. He won both matches against Banks and Yamhill-Carlton in a double dual and then won the Hood River Elks Invitational over the weekend.The Scappoose Indians flexed their dual meet strength last week, pummeling Yamhill-Carlton and Banks in a Cowapa League double dual match.

The Indians gave up a forfeit and two pins to YC in a 58-18 match, they lost just a decision and a pin against Banks in a 66-8 win. It was just eight points, but Banks was deducted a team point for unsportsmanlike conduct.

The Indians have now beaten four of the other five league teams. They travel to arch-rival Tillamook this Friday in a match that will decide the league dual meet title. The Indians lost a dual match to Tillamook recently, but were missing some wrestlers. They should be at full strength when the two collide this week.

The district tournament is next Saturday, Feb. 9 at Tillamook. The regional match-ups that send wrestlers on to state is in Scappoose on Saturday, Feb. 16.

Match results:

Scappoose 58, Yamhill-Carlton 18

106—Braxton Sue (Sc) pinned Nathan Payne (YC), 1:26; 113—Kurt Mode (Sc) won by ff.; 120—Jordan Middaugh (YC) pinned Alex Foumal (Sc), 3:36; 126—Taylor Walden (Sc) major dec. Garrett Smith (YC), 14-2; 132—Cody Erhardt (Sc) won by ff.; 138—Ben Gadbois (Sc) dec. Stefan Maxwell (YC), 5-0; 145—Hunter Hoyt (Sc) tech. fall Trask Van Arsdale (YC), 4:56 (17-1); 152—Michael Lohman (Sc) won by ff.; 160—Johnathan Tardif (Sc) pinned Brett melton (YC), 1:09; 170—Logan Brooks (Sc) won by ff.; 182—Bailey Apon (Sc) major dec. Thomas Mayhew (YC), 9-1; 195—Dakota Olson (YC) pinned Jeff Ban Domelen (Sc), 1;40; 220—Cesar Meza (YC) won by ff.; 285—Branden Bailey (Sc) pinned Dakota Carlgron (YC), :34.

Scappoose 66, Banks 8

106—Braxton Sue (Sc) won by ff.; 113—Kurt Mode (Sc) tech. Fall Anthony Kemper (B), 2:43 (17-1); 120—Alex Foumal (Sc) pinned Melchiah Mauck (B), :53; 126—Taylor Walden (Sc) pinned Justin Purington (B), 3:15; 132—Cody Erhardt (Sc) major dec. Liem Landers (B), 9-1; 138—Ben Gadbois (Sc) won by ff.; 145—Hunter Hoyt (Sc) won by ff.; 152—Michael Lohman (Sc) won by ff.; 160—Johnathan Tardif (Sc) won by ff.; 170—Logan Brooks (Sc) dec. Toby King (B), 11-4; 182—Garret Pauly (B) dec. Tyson Broadbent (Sc), 7-5 OT; 195—Bailey Apon (Sc) pinned Jonah Males (B), :46; 220—Jedidiah Mauck (B) pinned Jeff Van Domelen (Sc), 2:53; 285—Branden Bailey (Sc) won by ff.

Kurt Mode wins tournament title

The Scappoose Indians sent a few of the wrestlers on their team to the Hood River Invitational on Saturday.

Top effort on the day was recorded by the Tribe’s Kurt Mode with a first place in the 106-pound class. Mode won his first round match with a pin and then beat the top-seeded wrestler, Jorge Fuentes of Central, also by a pin. He won the semifinal match with a pin, and then posted an 18-2 technical fall in the finals.

Hunter Hoyt fought his way back through the consolation bracket to wrestle for third.

Match results:

106—1) Kurt Mode: pinned Halen Jolley (Mountain View), 3:35; pinned Jorge Fuentes (Central), 3:59; pinned Thay Htoo (Cleveland), 1:03; tech. Fall Derick Tollen (Churchill), 18-2. 120—5) Alex Foumal: pinned Shepol Meman (Wilson), 3:07; pinned by Adam Webb (Thurston), 3:50; dec. Chase Misener (MV), 8-2; pinned Hanthaley (Century), 4:40; pinned by Elijan Conlon (Riverside), 1:46; met Stanfur Lassin (Crescent Valley). 132—Cody Erhardt: pinned by Tracy Pitcher (MV), 3:48; pinned Tristin Prow (Central), 2:43; dec. Ben Moore (Westview), 5-0; pinned by Ahmed Yusuf (Cleveland), :58. Ben Gadbois: dec. Tristin Prow (Centennial), 13-4; dec. by Pitcher (MV), 5-2; pinned Mitchell Waters (TDW), 2:03; dec. Broc Steifel (Century), 6-0; dec. by Max Thomas (Churchill), 7-2; met Ahmed Yusuf (Cleveland). 138—3) Hunter Hoyt: dec. Alan Bordeaux (Churchill), 7-1; pinned by Andrew DeHart (HRV), 1:44; tech. fall Cody Wood (Parkrose), 16-1; pinned Anthony Oliver (MV), 2:35; major dec. Martin Herrera (Riverside), 19-5; met Andrew DeHart (HRV) for third. 145—Wade Nelson: pinned by Housten Ezll (Churchill), 1:15; pinned by Kevin Wright (MV), 2:20. 152—Michael Lohman: tech. fall Kurt Ward (Westview), 17-2; tech. fall by Yadnel Ayala (Cleveland), 17-0; major dec. Bo Anderson (TDW), 11-1; dec. by George Brown (Wilson), 9-7. 182—Bailey Apon: pinned James Tellez (Wilsonville), 1:26; dec. by Keegan Hammond (Cleveland), 7-0; pinned Jake Kolin (Wilson), 1:44; dec. by Bret Wilson (Century), 3-2.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine