Indians have three district champions; Branden Bailey named Outstanding Wrestler

by: JOHN BREWINGTON - Scappoose's Devin Ray escapes from the grasp of Cesar Meza of Yamhill-Carlton during the finals. Ray, Branden Bailey, and Hunter Hoyt won Cowapa League district titles Saturday.The Scappoose Indians sent 15 wrestlers out of the district tournament on to the regionals this weekend, including three district champions.

Tillamook won the district title with the Indians placing second, but it was a good tournament for the Tribe.

The Indians’ Branden Bailey, the 285-poundby: JOHN BREWINGTON - Scappoose's Branden Bailey flips Manny Nelson of Astoria in the semifinals Saturday of the Cowapa League district wrestling tournament. Bailey was named Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament. champion, was named Outstanding Wrestler for the tournament after pinning all of his opponents. His longest match went just 1:07.

Also snagging district titles were Devin Ray at 220 and Hunter Hoyt at 145. Ray was the No. 2-seeded wrestler. He got a forfeit in his first round and then had a pin and two decisions in his next three matches. Hoyt, seeded first, picked up two forfeits, a major decision, and then a pin in the finals.

“We had a good district tournament overall,” Scappoose Coach Jim Jones said. “We wrestled very well. There were a lot of matches where our guys had lost once or twice earlier in the year and they won. There were also a few losses we would rather of not had.”by: JOHN BREWINGTON - Scappoose's Hunter Hoyt was a district champion at 145 pounds. Hoyt will wrestle in regionals this Saturday in Scappoose.

“Justin Hering had a good district tournament and Johnathon Tardif wrestled well. Our team picked the right time of year to have a good performance. We had a good attitude going in, you could feel it. The practices were crisp. I’m not surprised they performed well,” Jones added.

The Indians put eight wrestlers in the finals. They had five seconds, including Kurt Mode at 106, Taylor Walden at 126, Ryan Bond at 138, Michael Lohman at 160, and Bailey Apon at 182. A bit disappointing for the Tribe was 170-pounder Isaiah Goodrich finishing third. He was dropped into the consolation bracket with a loss in the semifinals. He dominated much of that match, but gave up some points in the waning seconds.

Tillamook had six champions, and six second-place wrestlers in the tournament.

The Indians host this Saturday’s regional tournament that includes wrestlers from the Cowapa League and the top four wrestlers from a district between Molalla, Gladstone, Estacada and North Marion. With a difference in numbers, the Cowapa League’s No. 5 wrestler in each class wrestles the fourth-place wrestler from the other group. The winner goes into an 8-team bracket. Those matches begin at 9:30 a.m., followed by the eight-team bracket. The top four in each weight advance to state. Jones said he plans on the regional tournament going much quicker than district.

Jones noted that there has been a change in the seeding for the state tournament. In previous years, only wrestlers that had placed at state the year before were seeded. Now, a new formula will be used to include matches from this season. Performance at regionals should be taken into account.

Scappoose results:

Team scores: Tillamook (T) 477, Scappoose 343; Banks (B) 187.5; Yamhill-Carlton (YC) 143; Astoria (A) 130.5; Seaside (Se) 106.5.

106—2) Kurt Mode: pinned Anthony Kemper (B), :35; dec. Justin Coon (T), 7-6; dec. by Collin Purinton (B), 7-2. 4) Braxton Sue: pinned Nathan Payne (YC), :52; pinned by Purinton (B), 3:29; pinned Louis Gibson (T), 3:12; pined by Coon (T), 2:46.

120—3) Justin Hering: pinned Jack Whittle (Se), :26; dec. by Anthony Imel (T), 4-1; pinned Garrett Smith (YC), 1:45.

126—2) Taylor Walden: pinned Michael Ragan (T), 5;09; dec. Justin Purington (B), 8-2; pinned by Jordan Middaugh (YC), 1:57; 4) Cody Erhardt: dec. by Zachary, Macias (T), n/a; pinned Ragan (T), 4:10; dec. by Purinton (B), 9-6.

132—3) Ben Gadbois: major dec. Liem Landers (B), 11-0; dec. by Kody Pruilehre (T), 6-1; dec. Skigh Thomas (Se), 9-6; pinned Lander (B), 3:26. Dakota Sue: tech. Fall by Logan Weeks (T), 17-1; pinned by Thomas (Se), 1:05.

138—2) Ryan Bond: pinned Alan James (B), :51; pinned Brendan Coberly (A), 4:45; dec. Drew Owens (T), 7-4; dec. by Jacob Fowler (T), 8-4; Damion Merrow-Hansen: dec. by Trask Van Arsdale (YC), n/a; dec. by Stefan Maxwell (YC), 8-1.

145—1) Hunter Hoyt: major dec. Agustin Garcia (T), 12-2; pinned Joshua Long (A), 3:51; Wade Nelson: pinned Dani Sellers (Se), :20; tech fall by Long (A), 17-1; pinned by Nathan VanDeWalle (YC), :39.

152—4) Logan Brooks: major dec. Tristen Holiday (A), 11-2; pinned by Ronald Allen (T), 1:13; pinned Adam Craig (A), 3:36; pinned by Micha Kawano (T), 5:36.

160—2) Michael Lohman: pinned Bennet Roberts (B0, 1:05; pinned Ty Alexander (A), 3:43; pinned Justin Ruiz (Se), 3:14; dec. by Jonas Ayala-Sanchez (T), 1-0; 3) Johnathan Tardif: pinned Toby King (YC), 2:13; dec. by Ayala-Sanchez (T), 8-2; major dec. Eli Pesterfield (T), 10-2; dec. Ruiz (Se), 7-5.

170—3) Isaiah Goodrich: inj. Default Jensen Liu (Se), :12; dec. by Myron Moore (T), 5-1; pinned David Harrison (A), 4:21; Wells (Sc) ff.; Steven Wells: dec. by William Prince (T), n/a; pinned Patrick Leary (Se), 5:39; pinned Liu (Se), 1:30; ff. to Goodrich (Sc).

182—2) Bailey Apon: dec. Gabriel Whitlatch (T), 4-3 OT; dec. Garret Pauly (B), 5-4; dec. by Jordan Thompson (T), 3-0; 5) Tyson Broadbent: pinned Christopher King (YC), 3:24; dec. by Jordan Thompson (T), 7-3; major dec. by Whitlatch, 12-1; major dec. Pauly (B), 12-0.

195—Jeff Van Domelen: dec. by Rafael Gomez (T), n/a; pinned Pedro Martinez (Se), 1:32; pinned by Jonah Males (B), 1:29.

220—1) Devin Ray: pinned Skylar Africa-Barnes (B), 1:37; dec. Cesar Meza (YC), 6-1; dec. Marcus Cheney (T), 4-2.

285—1) Branden Bailey: pinned Dylan Jackman (T), 1:07; pinned Manny Nelson (A), :50; pinned Joe Crow (A), :32.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine