Eight players selected; Mariah Mulcahy named Pitcher of the Year again

For the second year in a row, St. Helens’ Mariah Mulcahy was named Pitcher of the Year for the Northwest Oregon Conference.

Mulcahy, a sophomore, was joined by seven teammates receiving NWOC all-league honors.

First-team selections for St. Helens also included: Sue Sass, senior shortstop; and Ashley Giesbers, freshman outfielder.

Chosen for the second team from St. Helens were: sophomore catcher Michelle Sass; junior second baseman Karli Edwards; junior outfielder Stevie Strawn.

Honorable mention went to freshman first baseman Taylor Leal and sophomore designated player Alyssa Giesbers.

The Lady Lions finished second in the league behind Sandy. They were eliminated from the playoffs by Hermiston. Sandy and Hermiston play for the state championship this Saturday.

All-league honors:

NWOC First team

Player of the Year—Kelly Meeuwsen, Liberty. Pitcher of the Year— Mariah Mulcahy, St. Helens. Coach of the Year—Kellie Wilkerson, Sandy.

Pitchers—Mariah Mulcahy, soph., St. Helens; Sammie Byron, jr., Sandy; Sarah Harms, Wilsonville. Catchers—Rachel Rutledge, jr., Sandy; Rebecca Ollison, Wilsonville. Infielders—Kelly Meeuwsen, soph., Liberty; Chelsea Spanner, sr., Sandy; Sue Sass, sr., St. Helens; Kayleah Starr, Wilsonville; Taylor Balfour, jr., Putnam. Outfielders—Meghan Luebbert, Sandy; Ashley Giesbers, fr., St. Helens; Brynn Lio, Wilsonville; Molly Nut, soph., Sandy; Kate Betschart, soph., Putnam. Designated Player—Cheyenne Baker, sr., Sandy. Utility Player—Princess Anyanwu, soph., Parkrose; Stephanie Stamnes, Wilsonville.

NWOC Second team

Pitchers—Ashley Driscoll, jr. Liberty; Emily Carlson, fr., Sherwood. Catchers—Paige Smotherman, soph. Liberty; Michelle Sass, soph. St. Helens. Infielders—Sierra Lamotte, sr., Liberty; Karli Edwards, jr., St. Helens; Katie Zook, soph., Sherwood; Tiffany Neuman, sr., Sandy; Hannah Zweig, jr., Sherwood.

Outfielders—Kimiyo Asanuma, Parkrose, jr.; Karoline Mason, sr., Liberty; Stevie Strawn, jr., St. Helens; Kylie Wruble, sr., Liberty. Designated Player—Adry Seitz, sr., Sherwood. Utility Player—Kassie Stevenson, Milwaukie.

NWOC Honorable Mention

Pitchers—Nicole Bugliari, Milwaukie; Brooke Snyder, fr., Putnam. Catchers—Mariah Scott, Milwaukie; Ashley Culp, jr., Putnam. Infielders—Maddie Wharton, Wilsonville; Presley Turin, soph., Sandy; Brittany Giesbers, sr., Liberty; Taylor Gruetzmacher, sr., Parkrose; Katie Conroy, Wilsonville; Taylor Leal, fr., St. Helens.

Outfielders—Talea Stashin, sr., Sherwood; Sarah Roberts, Wilsonville. Designated Player—Alyssa Giesbers, soph., St. Helens.

Contract Publishing

Go to top