Ray Elwess gains a bit of ground on Bud Russell in Sportsman class; Martinez dominates Dwarf Division

by: JOHN BREWINGTON  - Clark Tenny leads (and won) his heat in the Modified Division at River City Speedway on Saturday night. Tenny also won the main event and leads in the division points race.With just five races remaining on the schedule, the racing is still hot and heavy at River City Speedway.

The premier Sportsman Division has a classic duel going on between leader Bud Russell and Ray Elwess. The pair were neck and neck for much of Saturday’s events. Russell snagged points for the fast time of the day, but Elwess won his heat and finished second in the main event, just ahead of Russell.

Russell went into the day with a 21-point lead and should will stay in front when the latest standings are released, but by an even narrower margin.

Chris Gaboury (co-driver with Dick Gaboury) had a good showing in the 4-Cylinder Division. He had fast time, took second in the trophy dash, was third in his heat, and won the main event. He was just nine points ahead of Brad Ruth going in, but Saturday’s efforts lengthened his lead.

In the Dwarf Division, Ryan Martinez continues his steady march to the track title. He went into the race with a commanding 110-point lead over Kevin Hick in second, and was nearly 200 points ahead of third place Steve McCleary. It only gets worse for the rest of the field. Martinez won the trophy dash, took a tight third in his heat, and won the main event. Hicks won his heat in the race, and Scott Dorie had the fast time.

Cody Smith, currently second in the Street Stock Division, gained some early points on leader Todd Newton, but it didn’t hold up. Newton finished just ahead of him in their heat, and won the main event, again just ahead of Smith. Newton led by 47 points going into the race and expanded upon it.

Clark Tenney went into the Modified Division with a good lead over the field, and with a small turnout, increased his margin. Tenney posted the fast time, was second in the heat, and won the main event. Jake VanOrtwick, second place going in, was second in the main event, while third-place Cody Smith gained ground with trophy dash and heat wins. He was third in the main event.

Josh Pinkowsky didn’t have second-place rival Greg Lane to contend with on Saturday, but said he would have rather had him there. Still, he increased his lead over Lane and the rest of the field with fast time, trophy dash, and main event wins.

A crash in the Tracer Division stopped racing temporarily. Brittnee Gibson and Kylee Dorie got tangled and hit the wall. Gibson was stuck inside for a bit, but both young racers were okay. Dorie, the division points leader, won the trophy dash, took fourth in the heat, and third in the main event. Bryce Tenney narrowed the margin with fast time, a heat win, and second place in the main.

The Speedway also paid tribute to Aaron Michael Chappell, who died in a motorcycle accident on July 29. In addition to a memorial lap in his memory, racers raised $4,000 to help his family with funeral expenses. His daughter, Seanna, 11, sang a moving rendition of the national anthem prior to racing. Chappell, owner of Outlaw Exhaust and Customs in St. Helens, was a racing car sponsor and a mechanic at the Speedway. A graveside service will be at 1 p.m., Friday, Aug. 9 at Bethany Memorial Cemetery in Warren. A celebration of life follows at 3 p.m. at Outlaw Exhaust and Customs.

by: JOHN BREWINGTON - Track safety crew help Kylee Dorie (black car) and Brittnee Gibson after a crash during Tracer Division heat on Saturday night. The Tracer Division is for young racers, 13-15 years of age. Racing resumes at River City Speedway on Aug. 17. Just five racing dates remain on the calendar. River City Speedway Race Results for Aug. 3:

Sportsman Division

Fast time: Bud Russell, 15:289. Trophy Dash: Brad Beehler, Kyle Frelich, Ric Fors. 1st Heat: Joel Beehler, Jerry Strawn, Jacki Graham, Matt Jenner, Robert Chapin, Morgan Tenney, Steven Nusom. 2nd Heat: Ray Elwess, Devon Reed, Kyle Frelich, Brad Beehler, Dan Smith, Scott Dorie, Ric Fors. B Main: Joel Beehler, Robert Chapin, Matt Jenner, Jacki Graham, Morgan Tenney, Don Jenner.

A Main: Devon Reed, Ray Elwess, Bud Russell, Kyle Frelich, Scott Dorie, Brad Beehler, Jacki Graham, Joel Beehler, Robert Chapin, Jerry Strawn, Matt Jenner, Steven Nusom, Dan Smith, Ric Fors.

4-Cylinder Division

Fast time: Chris Gaboury, 16:126. Trophy Dash: John Oyler, Chris Gaboury, Brad Ruth, Chris Gaboury Jr. 1st Heat: Lisa Oyler, Russ Krein, Shelby Fitzgerald, Greg Brumbaugh, Chad Blanchfield, Jenelle Harrison, Robyn Ruth, Kim Oyler. 2nd Heat: John Oyler, Gary Brogan, Chris Gaboury, Erica Asher, Chris Gaboury Jr., Brad Ruth, Cliff Haynes.

Main: Chris Gaboury, Brad Ruth, Chris Gaboury Jr., Cliff Haynes, Gary Brogan, John Oyler, Erica Asher, Russ Krein, Shelby Fitzgerald, Greg Brumbaugh, Jenelle Harrison, Robyn Ruth, Chad Blanchfield, Kim Oyler, Lisa Oyler.

Street Stock Division

Fast time: Cody Smith, 16:127. Trophy Dash: Aaron Prettyman, Cody Smith, Todd Newton, Aaron Snook. 1st Heat: Ken Bryan, Curtis Zelmer, Bobby Morley, Ryan White, Derik Beehler, Jonathan West. 2nd Heat: Aaron Prettyman, Bernie Lujan, Todd Newton, Cody Smith, Aaron Snook.

Main: Todd Newton, Cody Smith, Aaron Prettyman, Ryan White, Curtis Zelmer, Aaron Snook, Callen Prettyman, Bernie Lujan, Derik Beehler, Bobby Morley, Ken Bryan, Jonathan West.

Dwarf Car Division

Fast time: Scott Dorie, 14:878. Trophy Dash: Ryan Martinez, Steve McCleary, Scott Dorie, Nolan Borders. 1st Heat: Kevin Hicks, James Brinster, Guy Tow Jr., Roger Moore, Jessica Eaton, Lucas Eaton, Dan Coutts, Brad Hicks. 2nd Heat: Scott Dorie, Neal Hopwood, Ryan Martinez, Steve McCleary, Brian Hicks, Bill Lamm, Nolan Borders, Guy Tow Sr.

Main: Ryan Martinez, Guy Tow Jr., Kevin Hicks, Lucas Eaton, Scott Dorie, James Brinster, Dan Coutts, Nolan Borders, Roger Moore, Guy Tow Sr., Neal Hopwood, Bill Lamm, Steve McCleary, Brian Hicks, Jessica Eaton.

Modified Division

Fast time: Clark Tenney, 15:073. Trophy Dash: Cody Smith, Clark Tenney, Curtis Zelmer, Aaron Elwess. Heat: Cody Smith, Clark Tenney, Curtis Zelmer, Aaron Elwess.

Main: Clark Tenney, Jake VanOrtwick, Aaron Elwess, Cody Smith, Curtis Zelmer.

Pacific Mini Sprints Division

Fast time: Josh Pinkowsky, 13:592. Trophy Dash: Josh Pinkowsky, Keith Everson, Dan Beck, Tracey Titus. Heat: Tracey Titus, Vinny Villeggiante, Mike Opoka Sr., Dan Beck, Keith Everson, Josh Pinkowsky, Kalista Ross, Eric Dehning, Mike Opoka Jr.

Main: Josh Pinkowsky, Tracey Titus, Keith Everson, Dan Beck, Mike Opoka Sr., Vinny Villeggiante, Kalista Ross, Mike Opoka Jr., Eric Dehning.

Tracer Division

Fast time: Bryce Tenney, 16:434. Trophy Dash: Kylee Dorie, Bryce Tenney, Kahley Williams, Josh Sheller. Heat: Bryce Tenney, Josh Sheller, Kahley Williams, Kylee Dorie, Brittnee Gibson.

Main: Josh Sheller, Bryce Tenney, Kylee Dorie, Kahley Williams.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine