Champions: Cody Jackson 106; Chris Wagner 120; Ryan Bond 138; Isaiah Goodrich 160; Devin Ray 220; Brandon Bailey 285
by: John Brewington BIG UPSET—Scappoose’s Cody Jackson won the district title by beating Collin Purington of banks, a wrestler he had beaten in six years of trying.

The Scappoose Indians got almost everything they wanted out of the Cowapa League district wrestling tournament on Saturday in Seaside-they had six district champions, and qualified 16 wrestlers for the regionals this Saturday at North Marion.

The Indians weren't able to match Tillamook's depth for the team title, but they made it up with higher finishes. The 'Mooks had just three district champions. Tillamook put two wrestlers in each weight class (28 in all), while Scappoose had just 20. The Indians were short-handed and had no entries in the 182-pound and 195-pound weight classes due to injuries.

'We had a good tournament,' Scappoose coach Jim Jones said. 'Obviously we had some kids that performed well. You always hope for a bit more, but we pretty much met what our team expectations were.'

The regional tournament, which qualifies four wrestlers to state, gets under way at 10 a.m. at North Marion High School Saturday. Eight wrestlers are in each bracket-four from each district. Championships are slated for 5 p.m. Scappoose originally qualified 15 wrestlers for district, but will also take 220-pounder Jabin Pedro, because the other district didn't have a fourth wrestler.

Scappoose made their mark at the daylong tournament at Seaside, and finished the tournament with pins in the last two weight classes for district titles.

Highlights for the Indians included:

-Cody Jackson, 106-pounds, beat Collin Purington of Banks for the first time in six years to win the championship finals.

-Chris Wagner, unbeaten this season, breezed through the 120-pound weight class with pins in 24 seconds in the semifinals and 46 seconds in the finals.

-Ryan Bond, the No. 2 seed, posted a decision and a pin to earn the finals where he faced teammate Hunter Hoyt, who upset No. 1 seed Jed Coon of Tillamook 4-1 in the early going. The Scappoose pair were tied most of the final match, until Bond jumped ahead in the third round.

-Isaiah Goodrich wrestled smart to eke out a 5-4 win in the championship round to defeat Jonas Aayla-Sanchez of Tillamook.

-Brandon Bailey (285) and Devin Ray (220) started their championship matches at the same time, each fell behind 1-0 in the first round, and each won by a pin within eight seconds of each other to finish the district competition.

Scappoose results:

Cowapa League

District Wrestling Tournament

Scappoose District Champions: Cody Jackson 106; Chris Wagner 120; Ryan Bond 138, Isaiah Goodrich 160; Devin Ray 220; Brandon Bailey 285. Second place: Blake Huff 126; Hunter Hoyt 138; Luke Mills 170. Third place: Tyler Walden 113. Fourth place: Michael Shoun 120; Ben Gadbois 126; Jonathan Tardif 132; Garrett Couch 152; Colton Fortney 285.

Team scores: Tillamook 446, Scappoose 316, Banks 238.5, Yamhill-Carlton 178.5, Seaside 83.5, Astoria 59.

Match Results:

106-1) Cody Jackson (Sc): tech. fall Skyler Clowers (T), 16-1; dec. Collin Purington (B), 4-3.

113-3) Tyler Walden (Sc): pinned Karla Suarez (A), :27; dec. by Anthony Imel (T); injury default by Cody Stewart (T); tech. fall Cole Hendren (B), 17-2.

120-1) Chris Wagner (Sc): pinned Maria Franco (T), :24; pinned Skigh Thomas (Se), :46. 4) Michael Shoun (Sc): pinned Justin Purinton (B), 3:54; pinned by Thomas (Se), 5:16; won by ff.; pinned by Purinton (B), 1:08.

126-2) Blake Huff (Sc): dec. Drew Owens (T), 4-3; pinned Kyle Lucore (A); tech. fall by Logan Weeks (T), 18-3. 4) Ben Gadbois (Sc): pinned by Weeks (T), 3:08; dec. Lucore (A), 6-4; pinned by Drew Owens (T), 1:25.

132-4) Jonathan Tardif (Sc): dec. by Kody Pruilehere (T), 10-8; pinned Josi Mabry (A), :28: pinned Stefan Maxwell (YC), 4:04; tech. fall by Pruilehere (T), 22-7. 6) Dakota Sue (Sc): pinned by Jake Fowler (T), 1:25; pinned by Pruilehere (T), 4:16; dec. by Maxwell (YC), 7-3.

138-1) Ryan Bond (Sc): dec. Chris Jacobs (T), 6-3; pinned Trevor Thompson (B), 4:35; dec. Hunter Hoyt (Sc), 5-2. 2) Hunter Hoyt (Sc): dec. Jed Coon (T), 4-1; dec. Josh Long (A), 7-3; lost to Bond (Sc), 5-2.

145-5) Michael Lohman (Sc): pinned Jacob Wood (YC), 1:03; dec. by Micha Kawano (T), 8-4; tech. fall by Adam Ezell (B), 16-0; pinned Wood (YC), 1:05. David Krupsky (Sc): dec. by Trask VanArsdale (YC); pinned by Ezell (B), :49.

152-4) Garrett Couch (Sc): pinned by Ronald Allen (T), :55; pinned Toby King (B), 1:28; pinned by Tad Lovely (T), 1:32. Steven Wells (Sc): pinned by Seven Groce (T), 1:10; pinned by Toby King (B), 5:05.

160-1) Isaiah Goodrich (Sc): dec. Cameron Singleton (T), 5-1; major dec. Jeremy Schillereff (B), 16-4; dec. Jonas Aayla-Sanchez (T), 5-4.

170-2) Luke Mills (Sc): pinned Jasper Aguirre (YC), 1:28; dec. Paul Williams (Se), 11-5; pinned by Tucker Cook (T), :54.

220-1) Devin Ray (Sc): dec. Kyle Douglas (B), 7-1; pinned Marcus Cheney (T), 3:22. 5) Jabin Pedro: dec. by Cheney (T), 9-2; major dec. Josh Raichl (A), 12-3;dec. by Kyle Douglas (B), 7-2; major dec. Troy Martin (T), 14-3.

285-1) Brandon Bailey: pinned Manny Nelson (A), 1:16; pinned Dylan Jackman (T), 1:23; pinned Zach Motsinger (T), 3:14. 4) Colton Fortney: dec. by Cezar Meza (YC), 10-4; pinned Jackman (T), 4:31; dec. by Meza (YC), 5-3.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine