Andrew Duggan, Jerek Pense, Jonah Asher make NWOC district finals
by: John Brewington SECOND PLACE—St. Helens’ Andrew Duggan was second in district at 120 pounds to earn a state tourney berth.

The St. Helens Lions didn't get everything they wanted out of the Northwest Oregon Conference district wrestling tournament, but they are sending seven wrestlers on to the 5A state tournament this Friday and Saturday.

Andrew Duggan (120 pounds), Jerek Pense (152), and Jonah Asher (182) all made the finals, but lost, leaving them in second place.

The Lions got some impressive comebacks for third place from Nick Rohrig (285) and Josh Bailey (160). Rohrig lost his first match of the tournament, but then pinned the next four wrestlers, including beating the same wrestler he lost to in the first round. His last two matches were against No. 3 and No. 4 seeds. Bailey, a first-year wrestler, pinned the No. 3 seed to take third.

'Overall, we had an excellent team effort,' St. Helens coach Mike McCoy said. 'Obviously we could have done better and some guys lost close matches that they could have won. They wrestled particularly well on Saturday, which was one of the best Saturday performances in several years.'

Both Pense and Asher lost close decisions in their finals bouts against No. 1 seeds, staying in the match right until the end. Duggan went up against the No. 1 seed in state in the finals.

'Jon Luttrell lost by injury default in the third-place match,' McCoy noted. 'He will be okay and ready for state. Dustin (Ford) had a good tournament and showed he is ready to compete at state. The team is excited and these seven guys all have the ability to compete well at the state tournament.' 

The state tournament is this Friday and Saturday at Memorial Coliseum in Portland.

St. Helens results:

NWOC Special District 1 Wrestling Tournament

Team scores: Sandy 307, Liberty 270, Sherwood 236.5, Wilsonville 175.5, Milwaukie 154.5, St. Helens 143, Rex Putnam 89, Parkrose 83.

Match results:

113-Cole Snider: pinned Dylan Cole (Sh). :28; dec. by Jordan Ostrander (M), 7-5; pinned by Grant LeBar (W), 3:37.

120-2) Andrew Duggan (2nd seed): tech fall, Mateo Rodriguez (Sa), 2:19; pinned Michael Coulter (Sh), 2:39; pinned by Gabe Garcia (W-1), 2:21.

138-4) Jon Luttrell: pinned by Paul Dodson (Sh-3), 1:24; pinned Cole Larson (P), :19; pinned Alec Slaney (W), 2:30; tech. fall Evan Castillo (Sh); ff. to Dodson (Sh).

145-Michael Zacharias: pinned by Tyler White (Sa-1), :32; pinned by Tyler Booth (Sh), 3:33. Andrew Orr: pinned by Rhett Schilperoot (Sa), 1:37; pinned by Joseph Larimer (RP), 2:11.

152-2) Jerek Pense (2): dec. Cody Schaffer (Sa), 9-4; dec. Chris Fields (P), 9-5; pinned Franny Alaguna (L-3), 1:30; dec. by Danny Rice (Sh-1), 10-3.

160-3) Josh Bailey: pinned by Tyson Tichnor (L), 5:17; pinned James Musser (Sh), 1:58; pinned Kenan Regan (M), 2:50; pinned Preston Russel (RP-3), 1:51; pinned Brenton Oten (M-2), 3:36.

170-Zilen Nichols: dec. by Jack Garvey (Sh-4), 4-2; pinned by Chadd Rund (Sa), 2:11.

182-2) Jonah Asher (2): pinned Ryan Siefke (M), :27; pinned Justin Hamilton (W-3), 1:12; dec. by Manny Dickinson (Sa-1), 5-2.

195-4) Dustin Ford (4): pinned Michael Young (M), 1:32; pinned Sam Garrison (W), 5:19; pinned by Ryan Jurgens (Sh-1), 5;13; pinned Kiefer Sebastian (P), :18; pinned by Brandon Walczak (M), 3:42.

220-6) Gabe Farmer (1): pinned by Rene Ramos (M), 4:22; dec. Martin Layna (Sh-4), 5-4; dec. by Connor York (M-2), 3-0; dec. by Ramos (M), 6-5. Tanner Gross: pinned by Carlos Decker (Sa), 1:59; dec. Kyle Montero (L), 7-0; pinned by Carlos Decker (Sa), 1:28.

285-3) Nick Rohrig (5): pinned by Anthony Massey (RP), 5:00; pinned Alexio Martinez (L), 4:59; pinned Michael Priest (Sa), 2:35; pinned Colin Schlaht (Sa), 4:00; pinned Massey (RP), 5:04.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine