Featured Stories

Jacobson shoots personal-best round, Scappoose girls' golf wins Valley Catholic Invite

Hall leads as all five Indians in top 10 at Meriwether Golf Course

COURTESY PHOTO: JOE GIRRES - Scappoose girls' golf won the Valley Catholic Invite with a 399 on Thursday at Meriwether Golf Course in Hillsboro.Morgan Hall and the Indians played better than ever on Masters Weekend.

Ali Jacobson (61-55—116) shot her best round as Scappoose (399) won the Valley Catholic Invitational on Thursday at Meriwether Golf Course in Hillsboro.

Isabel Jory (46-50—96) was second, Macy Gray (50-48—98) tied Valiants sophomore Matti Thurman for third, Jacobson was ninth and Alex Toman (63-60—123) was 10th.

Valley Catholic (443) was second and Astoria (503) was third.

"The girls played extremely well under near-perfect conditions," Indians coach Joe Girres said. "Isabel Jory strung together some impressive holes to start her round, Macy Gray was smooth and steady off the tee box and Morgan Hall was as consistent as she has been all year. It was great to see all the well-played golf. I'm really excited about the direction we are headed."

Scappoose is scheduled to play at Seaside at 10 a.m. on Monday at Gearhart Golf Course.

Valley Catholic Invite


at Meriwether Golf Course, Hillsboro

Team scores

Scappoose 399

Valley Catholic 443

Astoria 503

Seaside incomplete

Top 10 individuals

1. Morgan Hall, Scappoose, 44-45—89

2. Isabel Jory, Scappoose, 46-50—96

t-3. Macy Gray, Scappoose, 50-48—98

t-3. Matti Thurman, Valley Catholic, 50-48—98

5. Chloee Hunt, Astoria, 55-49—104

6. Caroline Hobson, Valley Catholic, 51-56—107

7. Samantha Hensley, Astoria, 53-55—108

8. Lizzy Osborn, Valley Catholic, 58-56—114

9. Ali Jacobson, Scappoose, 61-55—116

10. Alex Toman, Scappoose, 63-60—123

Scappoose scores

Morgan Hall, 44-45—89; Isabel Jory, 46-50—96; Macy Gray, 50-48—98; Abi Jacobson, 61-55—116; Alex Toman, 63-60—123