Featured Stories

Playoff picture taking shape for Scappoose girls

Scappoose girls will likely host Astoria at 6 p.m. on Monday evening in a league playoff game

Last Friday's victory over Astoria, regardless of the 50-44 loss at home to Tillamook on Tuesday, Feb. 16, all but guaranteed a place in the Cowapa League playoffs for the Scappoose girls.

It's messy, but the essential facts are these: The Indians will play on Monday, Feb. 23 in a league playoff game pitting the Cowapa League's fourth and fifth seeds against one another. The winner moves on to face Banks on Feb. 27 at 7 p.m.

Whether or not Scappoose hosts on Monday night is dependent on whether Astoria and Tillamook can knock off No. 3 Valley Catholic or No. 7 Seaside. Scappoose can't catch Banks for third in the league standings, and can't fall further than fifth — many thanks to Friday's result.

Exhale, and we'll continue.

Down the stretch, there is one detail which could be cause for concern: Galey, who has averaged 5.3 points per game this season, sat out Tuesday's game as well. Head coach David Spirlin said he doesn't know when to expect Galey back, but he'd rather it be sooner than later.

“It was kind of a catch-22,” Spirlin said after the win in Astoria on Feb. 13. “We got [senior Bella Sykes] back from her knee injury, doctor cleared her to play, but we lose Hannah to a concussion and we don't know when we get her back. We lose a starter who is pretty active, and so it changes everything defensively. Offensively, we don't get that person that can drive to the hole and put the pressure on the defense.”

Sykes has been productive in her return, posting two of her three highest scoring outings in the two games since reappearing in the lineup. The remainder of the offensive load during Galey's absence seems to have shifted onto the shoulders of another young face — fellow freshman Lea Brodala. Slight of build, but speedy with a good ability to shake defenders and get to the rim, Brodala has scored in double figures four times in her last seven games, averaging nearly nine points since late January.

Scappoose will close the regular season against No. 10 Banks, playing a rematch of a 44-24 home loss from Feb. 3. The Indians haven't beaten Banks — home or away — since Feb. 6, 2009.

Postseason scenarios:

Scappoose split the season series with Tillamook and swept both games from Astoria, giving the Indians the head-to-head tiebreaker with the Lady Fish.

Scenario 1: Scappoose beats Banks

Scappoose will host Astoria on Monday, Feb. 23 at 6 p.m.

Scenario 2: Scappoose falls to Banks, Tillamook and Astoria both lose

Scappoose will host Astoria on Monday, Feb. 23 at 6 p.m.

Scenario 3: Scappoose falls to banks, Tillamook and Astoria both win

Scappoose will host Astoria on Monday, Feb. 23 at 6 p.m.

Scenario 4: Scappoose falls to Banks, Tillamook beats Seaside, Astoria falls to Valley Catholic

Scappoose and Tillamook will play on Monday, Feb. 23 at 6 p.m. at a neutral site

Winner in all four scenarios will move on to face Banks on Feb. 24 at 7 p.m. As Scappoose is ranked 21st and plays No. 10 Banks in the season finale, the likelihood of getting a wild-card playoff spot is high regardless of league finish.