Featured Stories

Davis Fisher a rising star in flat track racing

Scappoose High senior races to eighth in 2016 X Games Austin Harley-Davidson Flat Track event

COURTESY PHOTO: DAVIS FISHER RACING - Scappoose High School senior Davis Fisher raced to eighth in 6 minutes, 46.293 seconds in the Harley-Davidson Flat-Track event on June 2 at the Austin360 Amphitheater.X Games Austin 2016 was just the beginning for Scappoose High senior Davis Fisher.

Especially now that he's graduated.

Fisher, 18, came up eighth in 6 minutes, 46.293 seconds in the Harley-Davidson Flat Track event on June 2 at the Austin360 Amphitheater.

"In the main event I had a decent start, but something — a chunk of dirt or debris — came off and hit me in the foot and it went numb," Fisher said.

He received an X Games invitation as he won the 2015 GNC2 championship with four first-place finishes and five runner-ups in his second year of competition, after having just missed the title by a point the year before.

Fisher went to Austin as a spectator last year.

The No. 67 Harley-Davidson Screamin' Eagle Factory Team rider has raced around his yard in Warren since he was 2 1/2 years old.

"My mom talked my dad [Rex Fisher, an AMA pro flat track racer of nearly 10 years] into letting me ride, and I used JD Beach's hand-me-downs," Fisher said.

His backyard track helps him stay in shape, and he visits the local track in Salem every other weekend in winter.

He looks to build a team and help people climb the ranks in the long run, but for now his focus is racing, getting more fit and handling his schedule.

Flat track season is March to September this year.

"It's about the development of the motorcycle and building a team of guys who have gone through it," Fisher said. "Crew chiefs, guys who have gone to school for building."

In his immediate future are races back east in such places as Owensboro, Ky., where flat track racing is more popular and where horse tracks are more prevalent.

Scappoose, Warren and St. Helens have very small flat track scenes.

"I think to qualify [for the X Games] next year, I need to qualify in the top 20," Fisher said. "I'm currently 14th."

Fisher, who turns 19 in November, finds himself with GNC2 riders around 39 years old with almost 20 years at that level.

Flat track racing, however, is more family-oriented than motocross, and higher ranks are more laid-back. Motocross is more easily accessible than flat track, but many of those riders don't pan out when the difficulty becomes obvious.

"On a mile track you have to learn to be smart and save your tires and motor and try to draft near the finish line," Fisher said.

Fisher will ride the Harley-Davidson XG750R — a bike first ridden in competition by Fisher in April — in the Oklahoma City Mile on Saturday at Remington Park in Oklahoma City.