Featured Stories

Scappoose baseball wins Cowapa League opener in Astoria

Indians score three runs in fourth inning, win 4-2

    -     The second-ranked Indians came through in the fourth inning of Tuesday's Cowapa League road opener at Ernie Aiken Field in Astoria.

Scappoose scored three runs in the frame and held 4-2 for its fourth win there in as many tries.

The Fishermen are 22-4 against all other visiting teams in the last two seasons.

Owen Parsons scored Hunter Holmason and JC Gross in the third, and Nicky Gill landed an RBI single.

Gus Nelson pitched a complete game for Scappoose (7-1 overall, 1-0 Cowapa League) and struck out six Fishermen.

Astoria loaded the bases in the fourth and the seventh but brought only junior Olaf Englund home in the earlier inning.

Fisherman junior Fridtjof Fremstad, who gave up seven hits and struck out six Indians, set down nine batters in a row with four strikeouts through the third inning.

The Indians split the league title with Astoria (4-5, 0-1) last season on the way to its second Class 4A state championship since 2010.

Scappoose has won four in a row and allows a seventh-best average of 4.25 runs through its first eight games.

The Indians are scheduled to host the very same Fishermen, from whom they have taken four of the last seven meetings, at 5 p.m. on Thursday.

Astoria has won six in a row in Scappoose.

Scappoose 4, Astoria 2

S 000 301 0 -- 4 7 1

A 010 100 0 -- 2 6 0