Featured Stories

Scappoose wrestling wins Pac-Rim tourney, St. Helens second

Indians' Cooper, Sue, Erhardt and Broadbent win championships; Albertson wins title for Lions

SCAPPOOSE HIGH SCHOOL -      For the fourth year in a row, it was Scappoose and everyone else at the Pacific Rim tournament.

The ninth-ranked Indians (229.5 points) won four weight classes for the crown on Friday and Saturday, Jan. 8-9, at Seaside High School.

St. Helens finished second with 187 points.

The Indians’ seventh-ranked Tyler Cooper won a 6-3 championship tiebreaker over eighth-ranked Estacada sophomore Caleb Brotnov at 113 pounds.

Fifth-ranked Braxton Sue (132) pinned ninth-ranked Yamhill-Carlton senior Orrin Ouska in 1:37 for the title.

Cody Erhardt (eighth at 160) pinned teammate Brandon Goodnight for the title in 3:30.

Tyson Broadbent (top-ranked at 195) pinned White Salmon (Wash.)’s Paul Demchuk in 47 championship seconds.

For the Lions, Colton Albertson (285) beat third-ranked Neah-Kah-Nie junior Anthony Ramirez 3-0 in the heavyweight title bout.

“[The second-place finish] gave us a lot of things to work on with individuals,” Lions coach Joe Mauck said. “[The tournament] was very well run. We had a student miss weigh-ins Saturday and, although I doubt it would have brought us up to first place, that would have definitely helped for the second day.”

Scappoose and St. Helens will go head-to-head again in the Oregon Classic on Friday and Saturday at the Deschutes County Expo Center in Redmond.

Pacific Rim tournament


113 - Tyler Cooper 1st

Championship match - Cooper won a 6-3 tiebreaker over Caleb Brotnov (Estacada)

132 - Braxton Sue 1st

1st Place Match - Sue pinned Orrin Ouska (Yamhill-Carlton), 1:37

160 - Cody Erhardt 1st

1st Place Match - Erhardt pinned Brandon Goodnight (Scappoose), 3:30

195 - Tyson Broadbent 1st

1st Place Match - Broadbent pinned Paul Demchuk (White Salmon), :47

152 - James Jones 2nd

1st Place Match - Matthias Peak (Parkrose) won by 7-0 decision over Jones

160 - Brandon Goodnight 2nd

1st Place Match - Cody Erhardt (Scappoose) pinned Goodnight, 3:30

106 - Brendyn Nollette 3rd

3rd Place Match - Nollette pinned Joseph Austin (St. Helens)

145 - Jack Eggers 3rd

3rd Place Match - Eggers won by 3-1 decision over Mateo DeVargas (Astoria)

152 - Zach Hanson 4th

3rd Place Match - Colton Beisley (St. Helens) won by 7-1 decision over Hanson

170 - Zeddy Jamerson 4th

3rd Place Match - Noah Geil (Nestucca) won by 7-4 decision over Jamerson

145 - Colton Bush 5th

5th Place Match - Bush won by forfeit

220 - Bret Couch 5th

5th Place Match - Couch won by forfeit over Bronson Holthusen (Astoria)

285 - Alex Hansen 5th

5th Place Match - Hansen won by forfeit over Garrett Wood (Scappoose)

138 - Isaac Cook 6th

5th Place Match - Trask Hill (Clatskanie) pinned Cook, 1:43

285 - Garrett Wood 6th

5th Place Match - Alex Hansen (Scappoose) won by forfeit over Wood

St. Helens

285 - Colton Albertson 1st

1st Place Match - Albertson won by 3-0 decision over Anthony Ramirez (Neah-Kah-Nie)

138 - Michael Bowen 2nd

1st Place Match - Jerry Mealy (Corbett) won by 16-4 major decision over Bowen

132 - Jose Silva 3rd

3rd Place Match - Silva pinned Sean McColly (Nestucca), 1:27

152 - Colton Beisley 3rd

3rd Place Match - Beisley won by 7-1 decision over Zach Hanson (Scappoose)

160 - Logan Carter 3rd

3rd Place Match - Carter pinned Hunter Gotchall, 4:52

106 - Joseph Austin 4th

3rd Place Match - Brendyn Nollette (Scappoose) pinned Austin

113 - John DeWitt 4th

3rd Place Match - Willard Neary (Nestucca) won by 11-6 decision over DeWitt

126 - Elias Fields 5th

5th Place Match - Fields pinned Mekhi Williams (Vernonia), 4:37

170 - Brandon Cupp 5th

5th Place Match - Cupp won by 10-3 decision over Dylan Dunlap (Neah-Kah-Nie)

195 - James Poland 5th

5th Place Match - Poland pinned Cody Dietrich, 5:57

Team Scores

1. Scappoose 229.5

2. St. Helens 187.0

3. Nestucca 141.5

4. Estacada 119.0

5. Astoria 116.5

6. Yamhill-Carlton 105.0

7. Parkrose 101.0

8. White Salmon 84.0

9. Clatskanie 76.0

10. Neah-Kah-Nie 69.0

11. Warrenton 57.0

12. Corbett 50.0

13. Knappa 42.0

14. Vernonia 32.5

15. Seaside 18.0