Featured Stories

You're now able to file for City Council seats in Washington County

Prominent Tigard councilor term-limited; Sherwood mayor seeks re-election.

This story has been updated from its original version.

Ever thought about running for City Council? Several seats are open across the area for this fall's general election.

Cities across Washington County will be electing new city councilors this November.

Eligibility requirements vary by city, but all candidates must be residents for at least a year and registered voters in the city where they seek election.

Election Day is Nov. 8.

TIMES FILE PHOTO - Tigard City Councilor Marland Henderson is unable to seek another term this year.Tigard

Two seats will be up for grabs in Tigard this November. The seats are currently held by outgoing city councilor Marland Henderson, who is term-limited and unable to run for a third term, and Council President Jason Snider, who has filed for re-election.

In Tigard, candidates run at-large, meaning that the two candidates with the most votes will claim the two open seats.

Snider, an administrator at Kaiser Permanente Northwest, has served on the council since 2013. He previously served on the city’s budget committee and was a reserve police officer with the Tigard Police Department.

Henderson is wrapping up his second term on the city council, having served since 2009.

Henderson owns Marland Henderson Construction, a light commercial and residential contracting firm based in Tigard.

The deadline to file for the November election in Tigard is Sept. 1.

For more information, call Tigard’s city recorder Carol Krager at 503-718-2419, or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


In Tualatin, candidates run for individual seats. Filing has yet to open. Prospective petitions may be filed with the city recorder's office beginning July 21.

Position 2 on the Council is currently held by Council President Monique Beikman, who has served since 2008. In Position 4, Ed Truax has held the seat for 16 years, after being first elected in 2000.

In Position 6, Joelle Davis was first elected in 2008.

Forms are available on the city's website and at the Tualatin Administration Office, 18861 S.W. Martinazzi Ave., Ste. 200.

TIMES FILE PHOTO - Krisanna Clark, mayor of Sherwood, is running for a second term this November.Sherwood

In Sherwood, Mayor Krisanna Clark has already filed for re-election. Three council seats are also open.

Councilors Dan King and Renee Brouse are up for re-election this year. Councilor Linda Henderson is term-limited and unable to seek re-election after Sherwood voters approved term limits for city councilors in 2014.

So far, residents Michel Meyer, Sean Garland, Alan Pearson and Tony Bevel have filed for seats on the City Council.

Like Tigard, candidates in Sherwood are selected at-large. The top three finishers in the November election will take seats on the council.

Interested in running for office in Sherwood? Pick up a candidate packet on the city's website or visit at Sherwood City Hall, 22560 S.W. Pine St.


The city of Durham will have three seats on its five-member City Council open this fall. Councilors Chuck Van Meter, Keith Jehnke and Leslie Gifford are up for re-election this year.

There are no term limits in Durham. Gifford was first elected in 1997. Van Meter has served since 2007, and Jehnke was appointed to the City Council in 2010.

For more information, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Durham residents have until Aug. 25 to file for the election.

Editor's note: A previous version of this story noted that no candidates have filed for Tualatin City Council seats. That is because candidate filing in Tualatin does not start until July 21. The story has been updated.