Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

'I have blood coming down my back' woman tells police after Tigard attempted murder

Court documents detail what happened during Jan. 2 attempted murder in Tigard.

OrtizNewly released court documents shed light on what may have happened after a 59-year-old Tigard woman was stabbed while walking her dog down Southwest Walnut Street on Saturday evening.

Daniel Ortiz, 17, was arrested on Saturday and charged with attempted murder, unlawful use of a weapon and first-degree assault after prosecutor say he attacked the woman after asking her for a cigarette.

A probable cause affidavit released by Washington County Circuit Court on Tuesday afternoon describes the scene that officers found when they responded to the 911 call on Jan. 2.

“(The victim) was on the ground with a bloody face,” Tigard Police officers wrote in the document, filed Jan. 2 after Ortiz's arrest. “Upon arrival I saw (the woman) with a large stream of blood running from her head. (She) told me a male came up from behind her and asked for a ‘smoke.’ And was getting in her face.”

The man attacked her, hitting her and trying to knock her down, she said. Authorities say he stabbed her twice, once in the head and once in the back.

A motorist driving in the area spotted the attack and turned around to help the woman, police said.

When officers arrived, the motorists passenger was staying behind with the woman while the driver went in search of the attacker.

“I have blood coming down my back,” the victim told police, according to court documents.

“I could see blood near her back,” officers wrote. “At this time medical arrived on scene and I was able to see (the victim)’s head and the blood had seeped through her thick beanie cap and was pouring down her face and front of her body. Medical pulled her jacket off and on her hooded sweater I could see about a 3-inch circle of blood with a slice in the center that was about an inch long.

“The layers under had a very large area soaked in blood. There was a stab wound on her back near her spine and shoulders. The stab wound was about an inch long with blood dripping out of it.”

The victim was taken to a nearby hospital with serious injuries. Her condition is not yet known.

Tigard Police searched the area. A K-9 unit found the boy hidden in a group of bushes, Wolf said. He was arrested without incident and lodged in the Donald E. Long juvenile detention center in Portland.

Earlier on Tuesday, Tigard Police said that Ortiz had multiple run-ins with police over the past few years, including an arrest in May 2015 where he was arrested for menacing after he threatened people with a kitchen knife, Tigard Police said.

Ortiz is scheduled to appear before a grand jury on Jan. 11.