Police to test local liquor sales
The Tualatin Police Department is teaming up with the Oregon Liquor Control Commission and youth volunteers to test local establishments commitment to carding.
On Saturday, minors will visit Tualatin businesses that hold liquor licenses. According to the police department, the minor decoys are instructed to be honest about their age and will not use any form of false identification.
Penalties are hefty for cashiers and wait staff who allow underage customers to order or purchase alcohol. A first-time offense comes with a $350 fine, a second offense carries a $1,000 fine and a third-time offense means a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 30 days, in addition to a $1,000 fine. The establishment itself may also face sanctions, license suspension or revocation, and up to $4,950 in fines.
The exercise is funded by Washington County Health and Human Services, with the aim of reducing youth access to alcohol and achieving a 100 percent compliance rate from Tualatin businesses.
Safety is at the core of such efforts, Rebecca Collett of Washington County Health and Human Services explained.
Many adults believe drinking is a harmless rite of passage. They may have no idea what is really happening at these underage parties, she said. And even though data shows that most high school kids in Washington County are, in fact, not drinking, its still a serious problem with dangerous consequences.Add a comment