The group of leaders help guide the Bowmen to the state championship

HILLSBORO — Sure, they’re champions.

But they’re something else besides that.

They’re leaders.

They’re the group of seniors on the Sherwood High School football team.

And they’re going out on top.

The Bowmen seniors finished their high school career the best way possible, helping lead the Sherwood squad to a 46-20 win over Marist in the Class 5A state championship game, played Saturday at Hillsboro Stadium.

“It’s sad that it’s over,” Sherwood senior lineman Harrison Shelburne said during the Bowmen’s victory celebration. “But this is the best way to go out.”

“We all did everything we could,” Senior quarterback Joseph Balfour DAN BROOD - SENIOR STAR -- Sherwood senior defensive tackle Logan Smigh (right) is congratulated by junior Martin Layna following the first of his two fumble recoveries in the state championship game.

And, according to the Bowmen, the seniors did a heck of a lot.

“They were leaders and they brought everyone in,” Sherwood coach Greg Lawrence said. “It was a blessing to have a group like that. They really came together. They remember the last time we won, and they knew how to do it the right way. They did a great job as leaders.”

And those Sherwood seniors reveled in Saturday’s title-game win.

“It’s incredible,” Sherwood senior running back Cristian Morris said. “And to do this with all my senior teammates is an amazing feeling.”

“From Day One, we worked hard for this,” Sherwood senior lineman Joseph Chamberlain said. “We’re all close in the senior class. But it’s not just the seniors. We all came together as a team. We’re like a family.”

And the seniors were the leaders of that family.

“They were a special group this year,” Sherwood junior running back Keegan Lawrence said of the Bowmen seniors. “They were great leaders and they kept us focused.”

Seniors on the Sherwood team include Vernon Johnson, Anthony Sherwood, Jordan Skoubo, Cyrus Mooney, Balfour, Logan Ballarche, Morris, James Musser, Nick Cameron, Jack Matney, Alex Barzee, Jacob Brooks, Chamberlain, Nick Rowlands, Shelburne, David Villalpando-Perez, Logan Smith, Michael Alley, Austin Scoggin and Emil Eriksson.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine