Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites


Fact or fiction, library book club offers some good reads

Monthly selections span genres and generations


If you love the idea of getting together with fellow West Linn citizens to discuss good books, then you should check out the West Linn Public Library’s monthly book club.

The book club meets on the second Monday of each month in the library’s community room from 6:45 to 7:45 p.m. Anyone interested is invited to join, either as a regular or occasional participant.

Members select the books by presenting and voting on titles at the January meeting. The book club chooses a diverse selection of titles, including fiction, nonfiction, classics and contemporary works. Some of last year’s selections included classics such as “Pride and Prejudice” and “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn,” and contemporary works such as Paula McLain’s “The Paris Wife” and Lisa See’s “Dreams of Joy.” Nonfiction choices included “In the Garden of Beasts” by Eric Larsen and Laura Hillenbrand’s “Unbroken.” A complete list of current and past book club titles is on the library website.

Here is the book club lineup for the first half of 2013:

Feb. 11: “The House at Riverton” by Kate Mortonby: SUBMITTED - 'The House at Riverton' is the February selection for the library's book club.

Perfect for fans of “Downtown Abbey,” Morton’s debut novel is set in England between the two wars. It is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

March 11: “Sometimes a Great Notion” by Ken Kesey

Kesey’s 1964 novel is the library’s pick for West Linn Reads in February. (Hint: Pick up a free copy starting at 10 a.m. on Feb. 1 while supplies last.) After you’ve had a chance to read the book in February, join us in March to discuss the story.

The plot revolves around a bitter strike raging through a small logging town on the Oregon coast. Bucking the strike is the stubborn Stamper family, whose lives are portrayed with the mythic impact of Greek tragedy.

April 8: “The Buddha in the Attic” by Julie Otsuk. by: SUBMITTED - The book club selected 'The Buddha' in the Attic by Julie Otsuk as its April read.

This novel tells the stories of six Japanese mail-order brides whose new lives in early 20th-century San Francisco are marked by backbreaking work cultural struggles, children who reject their heritage and the prospect of wartime internment.

May 13: “Half the Sky” by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn

Two Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists tackle the oppression of women and girls in the developing world. They show how a little help can transform the lives of many, and that the key to economic progress lies in unleashing women’s potential.

June 10: “The Tiger’s Wife” by Tea Obreht

Struggling to understand why her beloved grandfather left his family to die alone in a field hospital far from home, a young doctor in a war-torn Balkan country takes over her grandfather’s search for a mythical ageless vagabond while referring to a worn copy of Kipling’s “The Jungle Book.”




Local Weather

Light Rain

55°F

West Linn

Light Rain

Humidity: 96%

Wind: 10 mph

  • 20 Dec 2014

    Cloudy 54°F 53°F

  • 21 Dec 2014

    Showers 53°F 47°F