Featured Stories

Check out award-winning children's books

The seemingly endless gray days of Oregon winter are always brightened by the American Library Association’s announcement of their annual youth book and media award winners. The West Linn Public Library is pleased to share the 2015 award winners with you.

The best-known of the awards — The Randolph Caldecott Medal — is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished picture book for children published in the United States during the preceding year. This year’s medal went to “The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend,” illustrated and written by Dan Santatt. The story is about an imaginary friend who waits a long time to be imagined by a child and given a special name, and finally does the unimaginable — he sets out on a quest to find his perfect match in the real world.

Caldecott Honor Books included “Nana in the City,” illustrated by Lauren Castillo, written by Lauren Castillo; “The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky’s Abstract Art,” illustrated by Mary GrandPré, written by Barb Rosenstock; “Sam & Dave Dig a Hole,” illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett; “Viva Frida,” illustrated by Yuyi Morales, written by Yuyi Morales; “The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus,” illustrated by Melissa Sweet, written by Jen Bryant; and “This One Summer,” illustrated by Jillian Tamaki, written by Mariko Tamaki.

Just as the Caldecott Medal is awarded for the artistic merit of a book, the John Newbery Medal is awarded for the most distinguished written contribution to American literature for children. The 2015 John Newbery Medal was awarded to “The Crossover,” written by Kwame Alexander. “The Crossover” is a fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood. Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story’s heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

Newbery Honor Books included “El Deafo,” by Cece Bell, illustrated by Cece Bell, and “Brown Girl Dreaming,” written by Jacqueline Woodson.

The Caldecott and Newbery Medals are awarded by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit. It is awarded by YALSA, the Young Adult Library Services Association, and like the Caldecott and Newbery winners, the Printz awards are announced at the ALA Annual Conference.

The 2015 Printz award went to “I’ll Give You the Sun,” by Jandy Nelson. Once inseparable, twins Noah and Jude are torn apart by a family tragedy that transforms their intense love for each other into intense anger. Timelines twist and turn around each other in beautifully orchestrated stories of love and longing.

2015 Honor Books included “And We Stay,” by Jenny Hubbard; “The Carnival at Bray,” by Jessie Ann Foley; “Grasshopper Jungle,” by Andrew Smith; and “This One Summer,” by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki.

Brighten your winter days with these award-winners — they are great books for reader of all ages. Check them out at the West Linn Public Library!


Local Weather

Light Rain


West Linn

Light Rain

Humidity: 93%

Wind: 8 mph

  • 24 Apr 2015

    Showers 55°F 43°F

  • 25 Apr 2015

    Showers 62°F 42°F