Degman, Larsen will return to district leadership roles

Three new faces will join the Beaverton School Board.

According to unofficial results in Tuesday’s special election, Susan Greenberg, Anne Bryan and Donna Tyner will step into Beaverton School District leadership roles.

They will be joined by Board Chairwoman LeeAnn Larsen, who ran unopposed for her Zone 5 seat, and Board member Linda Degman, who faced two challengers in her bid to retain the Zone 7 position.

Greenberg will assume the Zone 1 post held by longtime board member Karen Cunningham, who represented McKay, Montclair, Raleigh Hills and Vose elementary schools as well as Whitford Middle School and Beaverton High School.

Bryan will claim the Zone 2 seat held by Tom Quillin, who has represented Bethany, Findley, Jacob Wismer, Oak Hills and Rock Creek elementary schools; Springville K-8 School; Stoller Middle School and Westview High School.

Tyner will take over the Zone 4 position held by Sarah Smith, who represented Aloha-Huber Park, Cooper Mountain, Errol Hassell, Hazeldale and Kinnaman elementary schools as well as the International School of Beaverton, Mountain View Middle School and Aloha High School.

Cunningham, Quillin and Smith chose not to seek re-election.

The newly elected board members join Mary VanderWeele and Jeff Hicks.

By the numbers:

  • Zone 1 — Susan Greenberg: 19,971 votes; Jay Bengel: 11,700

  • Zone 2 — Anne Bryan: 24,730; Chip Wallace: 6,832

  • Zone 4 — Donna Tyner: 21,553; Michael Richter: 9,508

  • Zone 5 — (Incumbent) LeeAnn Larsen: 27,123

  • Zone 7 — (Incumbent) Linda Degman: 13,329; Tom Colett: 10,563; Huma Pierce: 7,533

  • Contract Publishing

    Go to top
    Template by JoomlaShine