Only a trio of party nomination contests for legislators, but most nonpartisan races have opponents.

The deadline for filing for election in the May 2018 primary hit at 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 6. The following people have thrown their hats into the various rings in the region.


It's going to be a quiet primary election this year in regards to local seats in the Oregon Legislature. Only three seats look to draw an actual two-person race on May 15. All other local races will have to wait until the Nov. 6 general election for resolution.

Oregon has "closed" primaries, meaning Democrats can vote only for Democrats and Republicans vote for Republicans. Non-affiliated voters can vote only on nonpartisan offices and measures.

The deadline to file for seats passed at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

As of 5 p.m. Tuesday, races in this region included the following. For all races, the incumbent is listed first.

• Senate District 13: Kim Thatcher, R-Keizer, has picked up two Democratic opponents, Paul Diller of Wilsonville and Sarah Grider. of Newberg. Diller and Grider will face each other in May for the honor of trying to topple Thatcher this November.

• Senate District 15: Chuck Riley, D-Hillsboro, will face one of two Republicans from Hillsboro, Monte Akers or Alexander Flores.

• Senate District 16: Betsy Johnson, D-Scappoose, did not draw an opponent and will run uncontested for re-election on both the May and November ballots.

• Senate District 17: Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, D-Beaverton, also picked up no opponent.

• Senate District 19: Rob Wagner, D-Lake Oswego, will face David C. Poulson, a Republican from Lake Oswego, in November. Wagner was appointed by county commissioners to replace Sen. Richard Devlin, who resigned this winter.

• House District 26: Richard Vial, R-Scholls, drew Republican challenger Dan Laschober of Wilsonville in the May primary. The winner of that contest will face Democrat Ryan Spiker of Wilsonville in November.

• House District 27: Sheri Malstrom, D-Beaverton, will face Brian Pierson of Beaverton, Independent Party, in November.

• House District 28: Jeff Barker, D-Aloha, drew no opposition.

• House District 30: Janeen Sollman, D-Hillsboro, will face Republican Dorothy Merritt of Hillsboro.

• House District 33: Mitch Greenlick, D-Portland, will face Elizabeth Reye, Republican.

• House District 34: Ken Helm, D-Beaverton, will face Republican Michael Ngo of Beaverton.

• House District 35: Margaret Doherty, D-Tigard, will run against Republican Bob Niemeyer of Tigard.

• House District 37: Julie Parrish, R-West Linn, will face Rachel Prusak, a Democrat from West Linn.

Other races

Most positions up in Beaverton, Washington County and the Metro Council are contested after filing closed Tuesday for the May 15 primary.

All are nonpartisan positions. For the couple of contests below with more than two candidates, the top two finishers will advance to the Nov. 6 general election if no one wins a majority.

Only the Metro Council positions on Washington County ballots are listed.

(The district attorney and judgeships are listed in a separate story.)

Beaverton City Council

(Four-year terms)

• Position 1: Lacey Beaty, incumbent, seeking second term.

• Position 2: Patricia "Penny" Douglas, Kate Kristiansen, Laura Mitchell, Brian Rhone. Four-term incumbent Betty Bode is not seeking re-election.

• Position 5: Marc San Soucie, incumbent, seeking third full term; Rafael La Grotta.

Washington County

(Four-year terms)

• Chair: Ryan Deckert of Beaverton; Kathryn Harrington of Beaverton; Bob Terry of Hillsboro; Shabba Woodley of Beaverton. Two-term incumbent Andy Duyck is not seeking re-election.

• District 2 (northeast): Greg Malinowski of Bethany, incumbent, seeking third term; Pam Treece of Beaverton.

• District 4 (west): Kimberly Culbertson, Jerry Willey, both of Hillsboro. Bob Terry is vacating this seat after two terms to run for board chairman.

• Auditor: John Hutzler, incumbent, seeking third term.

Metro Council

(Four-year terms; Washington County ballots only)

• President: Michael Langley of Portland; Lynn Peterson of Lake Oswego. Two-term incumbent Tom Hughes of Hillsboro is barred from seeking re-election.

• District 4 (most of Washington County except northwest and southwest): Dana Carstensen of Hillsboro; Juan Gonzalez of Cornelius. Three-term incumbent Kathryn Harrington is barred from seeking re-election.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine