Beaverton event will feature hopefuls for the council presidency and three seats up for election May 15.

Candidates for the Metro Council presidency and three seats will appear at a forum.

The forum will be from 7 to 9 p.m. Monday, April 30, in the Andalusia Room at the Muslim Educational Trust, 10330 S.W. Scholls Ferry Rd., Beaverton.

Sponsors are 1000 Friends of Oregon, a land-use watchdog organization, and the Coalition of Communities of Color.

Candidates on the May 15 ballot scheduled to appear:

• Metro Council presidency: Lynn Peterson of Lake Oswego. Michael Langley of Portland has not responded, according to sponsors. Incumbent Tom Hughes of Hillsboro has served the maximum two terms for a president.

• Metro Council District 1: Incumbent Shirley Craddick of Gresham, who is unopposed for a third and final term.

• Metro Council District 2: Appointed incumbent Betty Dominguez of Oak Grove, who is completing the term of Carlotta Collette of Milwaukie; Joe Buck of Lake Oswego; Christine Lewis of West Linn. Carol Pauli of Oregon City has declined. Collette, who was on the council for a decade, resigned in January.

• Metro Council District 4: Dana Carstensen of Hillsboro; Juan Carlos Gonzalez of Cornelius. Incumbent Kathryn Harrington of Beaverton has served the maximum three terms.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(NOTE: Updates with Carol Pauli declining to participate, according to sponsors.)

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine