Jesuits Saturday win is its 13th championship in boys soccer play

HILLSBORO — The Jesuit boys soccer program has a history like no other.

And the Crusaders built yet another story on that estimable foundation on Saturday.

by: MILES VANCE - GOAL TWO - Jesuit's Matt Nachreiner lets out a yell after scoring his team’s second goal against Lincoln on Saturday.

Jesuit beat Lincoln 3-0 in Saturday’s Class 6A state title contest at Hillsboro Stadium, a win that gave the Crusaders their state-leading 13th big-school championship and further cemented their position as Oregon’s best high school soccer program.

That’s a number that’s impressive enough on its own, but it’s even more impressive when taken in context. Oregon has only held boys soccer state championships since 1977 — 36 years worth in all — and Jesuit has won more than a third of those crowns.

That’s good perspective, yes, but not good enough. That number becomes even more awe-inspiring when you consider that the next most successful team in terms of big-school state soccer titles is Lakeridge, lagging far, far behind with five wins, four of those coming in the first six years that the OSAA held championships in the sport.

And next best is Beaverton with four, which in similar fashion to Lakeridge, found most of its success in the early years of the sport at the high school level. The Beavers (who also finished second to Jesuit just two years ago) won all of their crowns in the first nine years of high school soccer in Oregon.

“I’m humbled to be part of that huge group of people that came before,” said Jesuit junior midfielder Christo Michaelson, one of 14 players who will return to the Crusader lineup next year.

The Crusaders have been close to even greater glory too, finishing second in the state playoffs three different times, one of those losses a 3-2 overtime defeat to South Eugene in 1998 and another a 2-1 loss to McMinnville (the Grizzlies notching an 8-7 edge in PKs) in 2006.

In total, Jesuit has won 13 big-school state championships, taking top honors in 1986, ‘87 and ‘88, in 1991, ‘92, ‘93 and ‘94, in 1999, 2000 and ‘01, in 2005 and in 2010. Further, the Crusaders also finished second in 1998, 2004 and 2006.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine