Portland rider finishes 120-mile course in 7:03:38 to win by just over eight minutes

When the dust finally settled on Saturday's Ochoco Gravel Roubaix, Portland's Ben Guernsey came out on top, finishing the 120-mile race in 7:03:38.PHOTO COURTESY OF OCHOCOGRAVELROUBAIX.COM - Riders at this year's Ochoco Gravel Roubaix take a short break. The challenging course included thousands of feet of elevation gain and miles of gravel road.

The annual bicycle race, which raises money to help support high school athletic trainers in Central Oregon, had the largest group of entrants in race history, with more than 165 riders starting one of the four race distances.

All four races began and ended at the Crook County Fairgrounds, with the two longest races run primarily on gravel roads high in the Ochoco Mountains.

The 120-mile course included 8,713 feet of climbing with 40 percent of the course consisting of gravel roads.

The grueling 80-mile course had 5,869 of climbs and was also contested on 40 percent gravel road, while the 45-mile course was 30 percent gravel with 2,146 of climbs.

In one of the closest finishes in Roubaix history, Guernsey finished just three minutes ahead of the second- and third-place finishers.

Guernsey and Owen Murphy, of Bend, had the same time as they passed the 66-mile check point. However, Guernsey pushed out to a three-minute lead by the 93-mile mark, and steadily pulled away to the finish line.

Murphy finished with a time of 7:11:40, while Ben Shane, of Portland, finished a close third with a time of 7:12:13.

He was followed by Seth Patla, of Forest Grove, 7:23:58, and Paul Hynes, of Bend, 7:23:59.

Jason Grove was the first Prineville finisher, taking seventh overall with a time of 8:19:41.

Cari Young, of Prineville, was the first woman finisher, with a time of 10:21:58.

Timothy Martell, of Lake Oswego, won the masters division (50 and older) with a time of 8:04:28.

The 80-mile race was won by Gray Skinner, of Bend, with a time of 4:17:07. Thomas Hainisch, of Bend, was next, just one second back, with a time of 4:17:08.

Ryan Chase, of Bend, finished third in 5:03:00, while Michael Kosmala, of Tigard, was fourth in 5:17:59.

Camilla Schmitz was the first woman finisher with a time of 5:34:55. She was followed by Deanna Halford, of Idaho Falls, Idaho, with a time of 6:01:29, while Becca Reisch, of Portland, was third in 6:55:00.

Scott Steaton, of Bend, won the masters division with a time of 4:32:55. Peter Borowski, of Bend, was second in the class with a time of 4:41:14, while Ken James, of Wilsonville, finished third in 4:50:58.

Seth Wilson won the 45-mile race with a time of 2:16:48, while Ryan Blair was second in 2:27:48.

In the most hotly contested race of the day, Ava Lilley took first in the woman's division of the 45-mile race. Lilley won with a time of 2:38:00, edging Kerry Martin by just two seconds (2:38:02). Kristi Cutter was just behind in 2:38:03, while Susan Kolb was fourth in 2:38:04.

Michael Nyberg took first in the masters division of the 45-mile race with a time of 2:27:47 with Kent Reynolds taking second in 2:37:55, while Steve Lamerdin was third in 2:37:58.

Matthew Deboodt, of Prineville, won the 10-mile community road ride with a time of 33:05. Jonas Haugland, of Minneapolis, Minnesota, was second in 35:46, while Radar Fixott, of Redmond, was third in 35:55.

Altogether, 157 individuals finished one of the four distances at this year's Ochoco Gravel Roubaix, the biggest group of successful riders in the event's history.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine