The 53rd annual Oregon Sports Awards on Sunday will honor the state's top teams, small-college athletes, high school senior distance runners and Special Olympics competitors in 2004.

Five teams are finalists for the George Pasero Team of the Year award: the Aloha Knights semipro baseball team, the George Fox baseball team, the Linfield football team, the Oregon Tech men's basketball team and the Portland Pilots women's soccer team.

Finalists for the Nike-Steve Prefontaine Award are distance aces Annaliese Chapa of Grant, Kenyon Newman of Summit, Michael Maag of Jesuit, Natalie Todd-Zebell of Grant and Scott Sanders of Brookings.

The Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year field consists of Jerry Davis, Grants Pass; Rod Foster, Bend; Ashley Lee, McMinnville; and Rebecca Taylor, Newberg.

The 90-minute show, which starts at 6:30 p.m., will take place at the Tiger Woods Center on the Nike World Campus in Beaverton. The show will be televised live by KATU (2) and carried by simulcast on the Fan (1080 AM). The Fan also will broadcast two hours of pre-event coverage, starting at 4:30 p.m.

More than 20 sports celebrities are scheduled to help Master of Ceremonies Bill Schonely present the awards.

Three merit awards will be presented to salute longtime commitment and service to sports in Oregon, and the Les Schwab Friend of Sports award will go to a corporation, group or individual for sustained and substantial contributions to local sports programs or events.

Tickets are $50 and include beverages and hors d'oeuvres before the show, along with dessert and coffee afterward.

Doors will open at 4:30 p.m. For ticket information, call 503-721-7477, ext. 13.

The event is sponsored by Nike, the Portland Tribune, KATU, Standard TV & Appliance, Les Schwab Tire Centers, the Portland Trail Blazers and SportsOne Inc.

Ñ Tribune staff

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine