Voters approved term limits in 1992; should they do it again?

The term limits law approved by Oregon voters in 1992 limited state legislators to three terms in the House and two in the Senate, not to exceed 12 years total. It also limited statewide officeholders to two terms and set limits for members of Congress at six years in the House and 12 years in the Senate. The Oregon Supreme Court earlier this month struck down the 1992 law, saying it made more than one unrelated change Ñ which is illegal Ñ to the state constitution. The Supreme Court was acting on a lawsuit brought by two former Oregon legislators. Advocates argued that the changes Ñ involving limits on both state and federal offices Ñ to the state constitution were related and not in violation of the state constitution.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine