Pioneers will re-load

The Oregon City Pioneers will have their work cut out for them if they are going to return to the state final in girls lacrosse in 2012.

The Pioneers graduate five players who started for them in the 2011 state final, including their top three scorers - seniors Shelly Bohrer (63 goals, 25 assists), Tessa Keuler (62 goals, 43 assists) and Holly Cisneros (56 goals, 22 assists).

They also graduate starting goalie Kaylee Kolin and starting defender Alicia Wong.

Bohrer, Keuler, Cisneros and Kolin were all first-team all-state selections on a 2011 team that came within one win of a perfect season, losing to Lake Oswego 10-8 in the state final and going 21-1.

But the cupboard is not bare for 2012. Juniors Natalie Clegg (attack), Tia Baxter (attack) and Sara Thompson (defense) started in this year's state final, along with sophomores Alyssa Albrich (attack), April Lanz (midfield), Danielle Kirby (midfield) and Emily Krupa (defense).

Albrich and Thompson were both named to the 2011 all-state team.

And the Pioneers have tradition on their side. They've made the state final in four of the past five seasons, winning state titles in 2009 and 2010.

'Yes, [Oregon City] will be back [in the state final],' Cisneros said, following the heartbreaking loss to LO in the 2011 state final.

Keuler added, 'They may think it's going to be a building year, but it won't be. We've got a lot of talent coming back. They'll be back here, and they'll bring that trophy back to Oregon City.'

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine