The Gresham-Barlow, Centennial, Reynolds and Corbett school districts, as well as the Multnomah Education Service District and Mt. Hood Community College, will be holding board elections Tuesday, May 15.

Information is available for the mail-in ballot elections at, or by calling the elections office at 503-988-3720.

Unless otherwise indicated, the term for each position is four years, ending on June 30, 2011. The seat up for election is listed first, followed by the candidates running for that position:

• Centennial:

Zone 2

Shar Giard, Gresham real estate agent and now the incumbent in Position 3.

Position 3, At-Large

Brenda Clark of Damascus, an employee of Oroweat Bakery in Beaverton.

Greg Shay of Damascus, a writer and businessman.

Position 4, At-Large

Incumbent Jeff Dettmann of Gresham, a painting contractor.

• Corbett School District

Position 1

Incumbent Brian James of Corbett, an aircraft mechanic in the Oregon Air National Guard.

Position 6

Incumbent Maureen Childs of Corbett, an education assistant and site coordinator for the Oregon Trail School District.

Position 7

Incumbent Mark Hyzer of Corbett, a mechanical engineer.

• Gresham-Barlow

Position 1, Zone 1

Incumbent Katherine J. Ruthruff of Damascus, a pharmacy technician.

Position 2, Zone 3

Incumbent Kris G. Howatt of Gresham, a homemaker.

Position 6, At-Large

Two-year term ending June 30, 2009.

Incumbent Dale R. Clark of Damascus, a sales director.

Position 7, At-Large

Incumbent Terry Reynolds of Gresham, school board chairwoman.

• Mt. Hood Community College

Zone 3

Incumbent Duke Shepard of Portland, political director of the Oregon AFL-CIO.

Zone 5

Incumbent Bob Morris of Gresham, food resource manager for the Oregon Food Bank.

Position 6, At-Large

Incumbent Beverly A. Russell of Welches, a retired travel agent who has also worked as a substitute teacher for the David Douglas School District.

Position 7

Ralph A. Yates of Gresham, current board chairman and a family physician in Portland, and an associate professor at Oregon Health and Science University.

• Multnomah Education Service District

Position 2, At-Large

Two-year term ending June 30, 2009.

Zak Johnson of Portland, a Web development editor.

John H. Kilian of Gresham, a dentist.

Frederick (Rick) Okamura of Lake Oswego, an attorney.

Position 5, Zone 1

Incumbent Geri Washington of Portland, canvass director for Oregon Action.

Brian Tosky of Portland, implementation director for, and an adjunct instructor at Portland Community College.

Joe Durkee of Portland, an arbitrator and mediator.

Position 6, At-Large

Robert R. Weaver of Portland, chief financial officer for Sunstone Circuits in Mulino.

Incumbent Janice Gratton of Portland, current board chairwoman and a child and family services consultant.

Position 7, Zone 3

Alexa Shook of Portland, a marketing manager for WebMD.

Kevin Spellman of Portland, a trainer and consultant and adjunct instructor at Portland Community College and Oregon State University.

• Reynolds

Position 1

Two-year term ending June 30, 2009.

Incumbent Rick Phelps of Fairview, businessman and property developer.

Position 5

Shelly Chase of Fairview, an office assistant with Pearson Financial Group.

Incumbent Joel A. Huffman of Gresham, project superintendent with S.D. Deacon Enterprises.

Position 6

Incumbent John W. Nelsen of Portland, now board vice-chairman, and a not-for-profit leader.

Position 7

Danny Charles Kreamier Jr., a collections manager and owner of Dan's Fishin Mission Adventures Fishing Guide.

Incumbent Claudette Naylor of Portland, a retired high school teacher and counselor.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine