Metro stars sweep the top three awards, land six on the 6A first team
by: Miles Vance HE'S NO. 1 — Westview's Carson Kelly was named Class 6A state Player of the Year after leading the Wildcats to the Class 6A state title.

The 2011 Metro League baseball season was one for the record books.

The Metro produced the Class 6A state champion in Westview - the league's first state champion since Southridge won in 2002 - claimed three of the top seeds in the 32-team state playoff bracket, and produced the best overall success of any league in the state.

With that as pretext, it's no surprise that the Metro League also cashed in when the Class 6A all-state teams were announced last week.

Westview junior shortstop and pitcher Carson Kelly was named the Class 6A Player of the Year after leading his team to its first-ever state championship, and his coach, Steve Antich, won the award as Class 6A Coach of the Year.

Further, Southridge senior Jace Fry was named 6A Pitcher of the Year after an incredible season of success on the mound that included, among other things, a Metro League co-championship.

Kelly won the Player of the Year award for the first time after hitting .473 with 14 home runs, 51 RBIs and a .973 slugging percentage. As a pitcher, Kelly compiled a 9-1 overall record with a 1.64 ERA and 71 strikeouts in 64 innings.

Fry was spectacular in his final high school campaign, amassing a 10-0 record and striking out 92 batters with a 1.42 ERA in 59 innings on the mound, while killing it with his bat too, hitting .488 with four home runs and 38 RBIs.

Antich was honored after leading the Wildcats to a third straight Metro League title (shared with Southridge), then taking his team through a 5-0 postseason run capped by its 9-6 state championship victory over Central Catholic.

Other Metro Leaguers honored on the Class 6A all-state first team were Sunset senior pitcher Jon Bjorklund, Southridge senior catcher Jake Azevedo, Beaverton senior first baseman Jordan Spencer, and Westview senior center fielder Phil Belding.

The rest of the Class 6A first team included McMinnville senior pitcher Chris Haddeland, Roseburg junior pitcher Josh Graham, Tualatin senior pitcher Austin Richmond, West Linn senior pitcher Riley Wilkerson, North Salem senior catcher Cole Ferguson, Grants Pass senior infielder Nathan Etheridge, Canby senior infielder Adam Bell, Forest Grove senior infielder Brandon Carow, North Salem senior infielder Austin Hamilton, Reynolds senior infielder Cody Childs, West Salem junior Brenden Shaffer, Forest Grove junior outfielder Jake Bennett, Lake Oswego junior outfielder Grant Taylor, Sheldon junior outfielder Ryan Land, and Thurston junior utility player Aaron Hoover.

Metro Leaguers named to the all-state second team are Sunset senior shortstop Mike Umscheid, Westview senior pitcher Sam Johnson, and Beaverton senior utility player Will Taylor. Honorable mention members from the Metro League included Southridge senior first baseman Ryan Howard, and Westview senior second baseman Donnie Bradley.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine