City Council approves recommendation, appoints 17 volunteers

The Troutdale City Council filled 17 vacant positions on five different city committees Tuesday night, Jan. 28, at the regular council meeting.

Two people also were selected as alternates on the Budget Committee and Planning Commission.

Each year the city holds a recruitment process to fill volunteer positions on its committees and commissions.

Troutdale began accepting applications in September. The city did not receive enough applications and extended the end-of-October deadline to Nov. 22, said Debbie Stickney, Troutdale city recorder.

All applicants are then interviewed by the city’s Selection Committee, made up of the seven members of the Council and the chair of each committee.

Applicants are questioned on their professional backgrounds, experience working in government and why they want to volunteer.

The Selection Committee met Thursday, Jan. 16, to interview applicants and agreed to recommend its choices to the council.

The Troutdale City Council took formal action at the Jan. 28 meeting by accepting the Selection Committee’s recommendation for appointments.

Phillip Mattson, Nell Simien, David Becker and Kimberly Meiggs were appointed to the Parks Advisory Committee. Mattson, Simien and Becker will serve a two-year term, and Meiggs a one-year term.

Reappointed to the Citizens Advisory Committee were Zach Hudson, Janice White and Jon Lowell. Larry Collins-Morgan, Kimberly Meiggs and David Becker also were appointed to this committee. All volunteers will serve a two-year term except for Meiggs and Becker.

On the Budget Committee, the city reappointed Tanney Staffenson and Zach Hudson, and selected Charles Foss as an alternate.

Phillip Mattson was selected as an alternate for the city’s Planning Commission.

Lastly, appointed to the Public Safety Advisory Committee were Janet Cocco, Eric Lafe Berg and Joe Carlson. Jason Gates and Jon Brown were reappointed to this committee. All public safety advisory volunteers will serve two-year terms, ending Dec. 31, 2016.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine