It looks like East County will have another busy election season.

The deadline for candidates to file for the election was 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 6. Within The Outlook's coverage area, one state Senate seat and six House district seats are up for election.

The primary election will take place May 15, and the general election will be Nov. 6.

Many of the legislative districts have shifted because of redistricting by the Legislature to reflect population changes reported in the 2010 Census, so some residents may find themselves in a new legislative district. Voters can check their voter registration details with the county elections office.

Here is a rundown of the local legislative seats up for election and the candidates who have filed to run.

Senate District 25

Senate District 25 covers Gresham, Wood Village, Fairview and Troutdale and Government Island State Park.

• Laurie Monnes Anderson, incumbent Democrat, was elected to the Senate in 2004 after serving two terms as a representative for House District 50. She is a retired public health nurse and manager.

• Scott Hansen, a Republican, is a dentist. He has served on the Gresham-Barlow School District Budget Committee and the district's Education Foundation Board.

House District 39

House District 39 previously covered the Oregon City and Canby areas, but legislative redistricting extended the district to cover parts of Boring and Damascus.

• Bill Kennemer, the incumbent Republican and an Oregon City resident, was elected in 2008. He served as a Clackamas County commissioner from 1997 to 2008 and as a state senator from 1987 to 1996. He was a clinical psychologist in the Milwaukie area.

• Christopher Bangs, a Democrat and Canby resident, is a teacher at Canby High School.

House District 47

House District 47 covers East Portland between Interstate 84 and the Gresham city limits. Jefferson Smith, the Democratic incumbent who holds this seat, is running for mayor of Portland. Four candidates filed to run for this seat.

• Andrew Haynes, a Democrat, serves on the Reynolds School Board's budget committee and is enrolled at Portland Community College.

• Thuy Tran, a Democrat, is an optometrist and a chief of optometry with the Oregon Air National Guard.

• Jessica Vega Pederson, a Democrat, works in the computer industry. She is a precinct committeewoman and a board member on the Hazelwood Neighborhood Association.

• Maggie Nelson, a Republican and retired teacher, serves on the Mt. Hood Community College board of directors.

House District 49

House District 49 encompasses Troutdale, Fairview, Wood Village, north central Gresham and the Rockwood neighborhood, as well as an industrial area along Airport Way and Government Island State Park.

• Matt Wand, the Republican incumbent, was elected in 2010. He is an attorney with Wand Maddoux Preston in Gresham and a former Troutdale city councilor.

• Chris Gorsek, a Democrat, is a full-time instructor at Mt. Hood Community College and part-time instructor at Portland State University. He previously served on the Troutdale City Council and is a former Portland police officer.

House District 50

House District 50 covers most of Gresham south of Burnside Road and Division Street.

• Greg Matthews, the Democrat incumbent, was elected in 2008. He is a firefighter with Gresham Fire and Rescue and a former Gresham police officer and retired Army sergeant.

• Logan Boettcher, a Republican, listed his occupations as a front-end supervisor for Food 4 Less and an accounts payable lead for Knowledge Universe Education.

House District 51

House District 51 is mostly in Clackamas County and covers Damascus, Boring and part of southwest Gresham and East Portland around Powell Butte Nature Park.

• Patrick Sheehan, the Republican incumbent, was elected in 2010. He owns an advertising agency and resides in Clackamas. He has also taught computer graphics at Clackamas Community College and is a licensed real estate agent.

• Shemia Fagan, a Democrat, resides in Portland and is an attorney for Ater Wynne law firm, where she works with lead counsel on business litigation ranging from commercial and insurance issues to employment defense. She serves on the David Douglas School Board.

House District 52

House District 52 covers Corbett, Springdale, Sandy, the Mount Hood Villages and Hood River.

• Mark Johnson, the Republican incumbent, was elected in 2010. A self-employed general contractor, Johnson resides in Hood River and serves on the Hood River County School Board.

• Peter Nordbye, a Democrat and Brightwood resident, is running as part of a local effort to elect a representative who is 'not beholden to big money' and who 'rejects the politics of divisiveness.' His campaign will accept money only from constituents in the district and in $50 individual donations. Nordbye is retired and served as a principal and educator in the Parkrose School District.

• Marvin Hollingsworth, a Democrat and Rhododendron resident, is a retired attorney and former teacher in the David Douglas School District. He previously served in the Oregon House and on the Mt. Hood Community College board of directors.

Multnomah County commissioner

Diane McKeel, whose district covers East Multnomah County, is running unopposed for re-election.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine