The news isn't 'fake' just because you see things…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We join other news outlets around the country in calling for an end to attacks on the free press.

Barton & Garrett: Measure 105 won't make community safer

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Immigrant communities and families may become greater targets for criminals.'

Raichart: Housing solutions may be simpler than Metro bond

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'What if we could recognize at least some of the causes and make changes that would reverse the trend...?'

Dondero: While Trump plays to his base, who runs the…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'While Trump basks in the glory of his base, he forgets that we only have one president ... who represents us all.'

Goodrich: Moving toward solutions

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Be sure to encourage two-way communication, and consider the other person's point of view.'

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 15, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers update us on the Welcome Garden at a Forest Grove church and opine on political signs.

From the Publisher: E-editions have arrived

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'You're now able to read each week's newspaper from tablets, smartphones and any device in between.'

Welcome to western Washington County, Street of Dreams

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
It's the ideal way to showcase the changing face of South Hillsboro and surrounding communities.

Dawson: Private sector can make housing affordable

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Private developers in the Portland region have shown it's possible to build more residences at a lower cost.'

Gurtov: While Rome burns, U.S. goes in wrong direction

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The impacts of climate change are no longer subtle. We are seeing them play out in real time.'

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 8, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write in about Oregon's senators, Alzheimer's research, airport regulations and more.

Hauser: Property tax limits weaken services in Oregon

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Oregon schools have never recovered from the damage wrought by the property tax limits enacted in the 1990s.'

Currie: Fight wildfires with faith in God and science

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'For people of faith around the world, the debate over climate change is over.'

Harris: School gardens are as healthy as veggies they grow

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Garden activities afford opportunities for personal growth and academic achievement.'

Lubischer: Here's more about the Hillsboro Airport

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The city has shown no interest over the years to try and reduce the noise and lead pollution from HIO.'

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 1, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write in about socialism and democracy, Metro's affordable housing bond, and the Trump-Putin summit.

Check out what's new in our opinion section

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Columns by Jim Goodrich and Tom Cook are bringing new and local voices into our newspapers.

Goodrich: The importance of listening

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Avoid 'reloading.' That is, don't begin to formulate your response while they are talking.'

Cook: Why Forest Grove? It's all about community

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'I have always said that the best way to get to know and understand a community is to get involved.'

Cockeram & Goerling: Homelessness in Hillsboro

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'As it has become more visible in our region, the City of Hillsboro has dedicated additional resources.'

Letters to the Editor: July 25, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers cheer Hillsboro's mayor and a recent cartoon, and offer thoughts on affordable housing.

Fire season requires attention from all of us

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Don't ignore burn bans. Don't assume only someone else can be responsible for starting a fire. Be vigilant.

Ismail: More guns in schools won't make them safer

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'What we should be doing is teaching conflict resolution in schools rather than punishment.'

Orosco: Separation of immigrant families is cruelty

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'We need to stand up to the dehumanizing language from our leaders that hardens hearts, and then crushes bodies.'

Morales: Real immigration solutions can't be rooted in fear

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Immigrants created the United States ... and immigrants continue to be a driving force for positive change.'

Letters to the Editor: July 18, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers voice concern about Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh and the motives behind immigration policy.

30-year sister city ties prove value of understanding

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Peace isn't something that just happens. It is made. Only through continued effort does it endure.

MacKenzie: Court ruling isn't only problem for unions

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Pushes for decertification may be the next priority ... to lessen the influence of unions on our government.'

Ray: Court ruling doesn't diminish need for unions

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'I am a union member because my union helps me advocate for my students both in my district and in Salem.'

Miller: Inspiration from my late great-grandmother

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Hers was a long and memorable life. ... She was determined to leave on her own terms.'

Letters to the Editor: July 11, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write in about the newsroom shooting in Maryland, cards for veterans, the Grand Lodge and more.

From the Publisher: A new era for our news online

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'We are asking our readers to help us ... in our mission to serve the community by subscribing to our websites. '

Reporters are working through tragedy. Why can't we all?

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
The latest horrifying mass shooting in a Maryland newsroom provides yet another clarion call on gun violence.

Goodrich: 'Management by walking around' pays off

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Now more than ever, business leaders must do more than simply check in with their direct reports.'

Letters to the Editor: July 4, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers cheer sports editor Wade Evanson's coverage of trap shooting and chime in on immigration issues.

Be a part of the solution: Help plan the future

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
There are planning projects going on across our region. Residents should get involved.

Charles: Metro bond will make all housing more expensive

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The only way to significantly reduce the price of all homes ... is to make it easier to increase the supply.'

Bauer: If bills pass, more Oregonians go hungry

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'These days, food insecurity is not just a problem for people living below the poverty line.'

O'Herron: Nuclear power puts human health at risk

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Oregonian voters already have made the correct decision to prohibit commercial nuclear reactors in our state.'

Terhune & Hildick: Reflecting on Marylhurst

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'...An opportunity for our community to come together one final time to celebrate this great institution.'

Letters to the Editor: June 27, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write about disability issues, President Donald Trump and local transportation planning.

Forced family separation is not the answer

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
This is a cruel policy that recalls terrible mistakes from our history. We cannot be silent about it.

Merkley: Zero humanity in traumatizing children at…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Experts tell us that children who are forcibly taken from their parents ... experience enormous trauma.'

Van Staaveren: Quality of life needs limits to…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'A nation cannot exist without borders and tight controls over how many and which non-citizens may enter and reside.'

Gurtov: What happened? Assessing the Singapore…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Whatever substantive agreements were reached took place between Trump and Kim alone.'

Letters to the Editor: June 20, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers react to events in the news: celebrity suicides and family separation at the border.

Is Metro the right agency to lead on housing?

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We all want more affordable housing. But the regional government has some questions to answer about its role.

Schlemmer: View on education misses many crucial…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'A trifle of noblesse oblige ... perhaps only to assuage their guilt at hurting many families to get where they are now.'

Tsur: Keeping Forest Grove historic through…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The guidelines help ensure retention and restoration of the ... original construction.'

Letters to the Editor: June 13, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write about community involvement, free speech at school, respect for veterans and more.

Graduation a time for celebration, reflection

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
They were kids when they first walked into our local high schools. They walk out now as adults.

Schimmel: Clarity of conscience

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'How we respond to homelessness ... goes right to the heart of who we want to be as a community.'

Ahern: MLB in Portland? Make it an expansion team

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The Pacific Northwest likes it fresh, and we aren't afraid to build from the ground up.'

Maass: Close down strip clubs throughout the state

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'These businesses are the epitome of using and abusing women ... and should be closed and run out of this state.'

Hillsboro's planned ISP is good news for residents

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Could cheap, fast, city-provided internet access provide a model for other communities? We hope so.

Plecque: SNAP works well, unlike a proposal to…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Millions of low-income individuals and families rely on the nutritional assistance it provides.'

Warren: Macron shows why younger leaders may be…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Perhaps we're past the expiration date on that 'baby boomers as leaders' model.'

Barnum: Congress takes first step to ending seasons…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Director of Forest Resources Institute says Congress is on the right track to protect our forests.

Hickok: Low-income students thrive with school…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Cascade Policy Institute official advocates for more school choice for Oregon students.

Ruiz: Refusing to vaccinate your kids is not abuse

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Oregon DHS has a statistical reputation of removing children: 30 percent above the national average.'

Doan: Change in how we produce food is badly needed

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Pacific University student says the U.S. must change how our culture consumes beef.

Letters to the Editor: May 23, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers share their thoughts on food labeling and Forest Grove's Historical Landmarks.

Stride: On the trail at Jackson Bottom Wetlands…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Naturalist at Jackson Bottom Wetlands shows off what the natural area has to offer visitors.

Finding the meaning of community in Cornelius

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Don't malign this misunderstood town. Many residents of Cornelius are proud of where they live.

Knudson: We're not yet prepared for big disaster

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'National Infrastructure Week, May 14 to May 21, gives us a chance to check in to see how well we are doing.'

Letters to the Editor: May 16, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write to us about a teachers' fun run, childhood obesity, antibiotics in food and more.

Endorsement: Juan Carlos Gonzalez for Metro…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
The 25-year-old from Cornelius is impressive beyond his years and should bring a fresh perspective to Metro.

Endorsement: Lynn Peterson for Metro president

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
She is eminently qualified for the job and sounds the right notes on reaching the suburbs.

Museum Musings: Tillie Cornelius lived remarkable…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Cornelius was named for its town founder ... However, the rest of the Cornelius family history is often overlooked.'

Dondero: Putting out the welcome mat

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Parking issues are visible, while housing insecurity and homelessness are invisible.'

Letters to the Editor: May 9, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
In our final batch of letters before Election Day, readers make their best arguments for candidates.

Letters to the Editor (overflow): May 9, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
These political letters arrived too late or ran too long for print, but they're collected here online.

Endorsement: Kevin Barton for Washington County…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
He's the most qualified of the two candidates, and we have concerns about his opponent's campaign.

Bonamici: Fighting for our communities, overcoming…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'One common thread in all of my meetings was the urgent need for more funding for treatment and prevention.'

Dalin: Cornelius is 125 years old and getting better

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'It is an honor to serve as your mayor and especially to help preside over our 125th Year Birthday Party.'

Boone: Frustrated by rhetoric, false claims in HD…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'One cannot simply say they will solve problems alone - that is not possible.'

Letters to the Editor: May 2, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers make their opinions known about candidates, yard signs, voting, food waste, aquatic fees and more.

Endorsement: Ryan Deckert for Washington County…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We believe the former state legislator stands out in a field of four credible candidates.

Endorsement: Pam Treece for Washington County…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The Westside Economic Alliance head is eminently qualified to represent District 2.

Gollnick: 'Smart guns' aren't so smart

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Technology can't solve sociological problems. It's just the wrong tool for the job.'

Kendall: Pacific University, much of Forest Grove…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Through my explorations of the Pacific University campus, I've realized that I live in a food desert.'

Letters to the Editor: April 25, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write about candidates for office, local history, contraceptives, law enforcement and more.

Endorsement: Jerry Willey for Washington County…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
In the District 4 race, both candidates are capable but Willey stands out with experience and relationships.

Morey: Keep the jobs pipeline local for water supply

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Those who manage our water are thinking and planning ahead to secure a new source for our water supply.'

Speirs: Judgment is reserved for our creator

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Trump was elected to bring back a failing economy and to revive the spirit of the American worker.'

Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers make pitches for candidates in Washington County, Metro and Oregon state elections.

Tariffs on newsprint could hurt American journalism

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We don't like talking about ourselves. But we worry about how tariffs could impact our ability to serve you.

Mitsui & Hinshaw: Collaboration that connects…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Portland Community College is achieving dramatically improved graduation outcomes for these students.'

Church: My Lai, Parkland and Dr. King

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'It is also vital now, with the Parkland high school massacre fresh in our memory, to look at systemic violence.'

Learn about local races when the chance presents…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
While we focus our attention on national politics, decisions close to home affect our day-to-day lives.

Hastings: Just say 'no' to NRA's political agenda

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Like apartheid falling in South Africa, the NRA will topple, and even the corporations ... will abandon them.'

Charles & Shepard: TriMet shows pension reform…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'TriMet's pension reform offers a valuable guide ... on how to contain and reverse the spiraling PERS disaster.'

Gardner & Weber: The truth about sports scholarships

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The odds of a sports scholarship paying for even a portion of a student's college education are miniscule.'

Letters to the Editor: April 4, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write to us about upcoming elections, Native American representation, school safety and more.

Retailers' moves a step in the right direction

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Restricting gun access to teenagers is wise, and if our lawmakers won't do it and our stores can, they should.

Emerick: More people with guns doesn't fix the…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Again, the root cause is guns. We must address weapons that can create such rapid and mass destruction.'

Parks: One step in reducing gun violence is simple

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
't was not that long ago that we had a ban on assault rifles. ... We have gone backwards on reasonable gun control.'

Lindsley: Seriously happy school gardens work for…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'A 'garden per school' is proving its value as students achieve higher test scores.'

Currie: Honor Dr. King by joining the fight for…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The gun violence that took Dr. King, and would soon take Sen. Robert F. Kennedy, is now an epidemic.'

Ferreira: Vape rule fix needed to improve public…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Economists conclude FDA regulations will prevent smokers from switching to safer alternatives.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine