Visiting authors include Robin Cody of Richocet River

Graham’s Book & Stationery will host a stop on the 2012 Crazy Eights Author Tour, a tour featuring 28 Oregon authors, held at eight bookstores in eight Oregon towns.

The tour will visit Graham’s on Nov. 15 at 7 p.m.

Authors featured at the Graham’s event include Robin Cody, Gina Ochsner, Ron Lovell, Phillip Margolin, R. Gregory Nokes, Anne Jennings Paris, Naseem Rahka, Karen Spears Zacharias and George Byron Wright.

Raised in Estacada, Cody is the author of “Ricochet River,” a novel of rivers and fish and Indian lore. The Oregon Cultural Heritage Commission recognized the book as one of the 100 essential Oregon books in 2005.

“Voyage of a Summer Sun” is the story of Cody’s 82-day solo canoe trip down the Columbia River from its source in Canada to Astoria. With “Voyage,” Cody won the 1995 Oregon Book Award for creative nonfiction. His most recent book, “Another Way the River Has,” is a collection of short true stories.

Ochsner lives in Keizer and divides her time between writing and teaching with the Seattle Pacific Low-Residency MFA program. She has been awarded a John L. Simon Guggenheim grant and a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Her stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Tin House, Glimmertrain and the Kenyon Review. She is the author of the short story collection “The Necessary Grace to Fall”,” which received the Flannery O’Connor Award for short fiction, and the story collection “People I Wanted to Be.” Both books received the Oregon Book Award.

Her newest novel, “The Russian Dreambook of Colour and Flight,” has been called “heartbreaking and funny and deeply moving.”

Lovell retired after 24 years as a journalism professor at Oregon State University and started writing mysteries to see if he could do it. The books in the series feature Thomas Martindale, a college journalism professor and amateur sleuth. In “Murder in the Steens,” the ninth book in the series, Martindale travels to a remote area of Southeastern Oregon to find a missing man. All trails lead to Kiger Gorge on Steens Mountain, home to a herd of wild horses. Tom wants to find the man, others want the horses and will do anything to get them, including murder.

Margolin grew up in New York State and graduated from New York University School of Law. His first job after law school was a clerkship with Herbert M. Schwab, chief judge, Oregon Court of Appeals. From 1972 until 1996, he was in private practice in Portland, specializing in criminal defense at the trial and appellate levels.

“Heartstone” was his first novel, which was nominated for an Edgar for best original paperback mystery of 1978. His second novel, “The Last Innocent Man,” was made into an HBO movie. Since 1996, Margolin has been writing full time and all of his novels have been New York Times bestsellers. His latest novel, “Capitol Murder,” was published in April.

After a 43-year career with the Associated Press and The Oregonian, Nokes began a second career as a writer and lecturer on the experience of immigrant Chinese in the Pacific Northwest. His book, “Massacred for Gold: The Chinese in Hells Canyon,” is the first authoritative account of the long-forgotten 1887 massacre of as many as 34 Chinese gold miners in Oregon’s Hells Canyon. The Oregonian selected the book as one of its top 10 nonfiction titles of 2010.

Nokes is now working on a book dealing with the treatment of African Americans in the Pacific Northwest in the early days of the region’s settlement. He lives with his wife, Candace, in West Linn.

Graham’s Book and Stationery is located at 460 Second St. in Lake Oswego.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine