Both Lakers, who led their team into the state quarterfinals, are named to the all-state second team

REVIEW FILE PHOTO - Lake Oswego junior outfielder Sam Haney was named to the second team in the recently released Class 6A all-state baseball listings.Great years lead to great rewards.

And the Lake Oswego baseball team turned 2017 — a year that began with a tough 1-8 stretch — into a great year, eventually ending with a berth in the Class 6A state quarterfinals.

The rewards came with the recently released Class 6A all-state baseball teams, with two players — pitcher Alex Giroux and outfielder Sam Haney — honored on the all-state second team.

Giroux, a sophomore who was previously named Three Rivers League Pitcher of the Year, went 3-2 in league, with an 0.832 ERA in 39 2/3 innings, allowing 26 hits and seven walks while striking out 37.

Haney, a junior left fielder, earned his place on the second team after batting .323 with 18 RBIs and 19 runs scored.

Centennial junior outfielder Dawson Day was named Player of the Year, Century senior Kolby Somers was named Pitcher of the Year, and Clackamas coach John Arntson, who led the Cavaliers to the state championship, was named Coach of the Year.


Pitchers: Baxter Halligan, Lincoln, senior; Austen Carpenter, Gresham, senior; Wyatt Smith, McMinnville, senior; Kolby Somers, Century, senior; Callan McRae, Beaverton, senior. Catchers: Justin Geyer, North Medford, senior; Aaron Zavala, South Salem, junior. First basemen: Isaiah Molaski, South Eugene, senior; Jake Porter, West Linn, senior. Infielders: Tim Tawa, West Linn, senior; Willie Weiss, Westview, junior; Brandon Leitgeb, Lincoln, senior; DQ Lee, Oregon City, senior; Matthew Ismay, McNary, senior. Outfielders: Kevin Watson Jr., Beaverton, senior; Jacob Melton, South Medford, junior; Dawson Day, Centennial, senior; Max Long, Sprague, junior. Utility: Greg Mehlhaff, Clackamas, junior; Kenji Lamdin, Grant, sophomore.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Dawson Day, Centennial, senior

PITCHER OF THE YEAR — Kolby Somers, Century, senior

COACH OF THE YEAR — John Arntson, Clackamas


Pitchers: Jacob Miller, West Albany, senior; Jonah Sherman, South Eugene, senior; Kevin Reilly, Clackamas, senior; Alex Giroux, Lake Oswego, sophomore; Sawyer Medlin, Grant, senior. Catchers: Nathan Springer, Glencoe, junior; Jordan Mambaje, Clackamas, senior. First basemen: Trace Hokkanen, Beaverton, senior; Tanner Sorensen, Sprague, senior. Infielders: Wyatt Christophersen, Beaverton, senior; Sammy Willman, Grant, junior; Justin Culpepper, Sprague, senior; Matt Land, Sheldon, senior; Vincent Zavolta, Grants Pass, senior; Ben Braukmann, Westview, junior. Outfielders: Brett Thomas, Tigard, senior; Jack Fletcher, Grant, junior; John Arndorfer, Jesuit, senior; Sam Haney, Lake Oswego, junior. Utility: Harrison Grow, Sherwood, senior.


Pitchers: Eli Morse, Cleveland, senior; Zack Mandera, Roseburg, sophomore; Caden Hennessy, Clackamas, senior; Taylor Ott, Tigard, senior; Mick Abel, Jesuit, freshman; Jon Fortner, Lincoln, senior; Ethan Whitney, South Medford, senior; Lucas Denhert, Reynolds, senior; Cody Vestal, Sprague, senior. Catchers: Ezra Samperi, Gresham, junior; Parker Kunz, Tigard, senior; Even Cyrus, West Salem, senior. First baseman: Nick Raska, North Salem, junior. Infielders: Zach Diehl, Sheldon, senior; Bubba Jaha, Clackamas, junior; Tori Doten, South Salem, junior; Jayce Lien, West Albany, junior; Kyle Dernedde, Tualatin, sophomore; Brendan Ritschard, Centennial, senior. Outfielders: Tyler Rund, Grants Pass, junior; Tyler Wood, Gresham, senior; Casey Peterson, Clackamas, senior; Chase Cosner, West Linn, senior; Garrett Marioni, West Linn, junior; Kasey Buchanan, North Medford, senior; Gabe Skoro, Lincoln, senior; Jacob Bunn, Beaverton, senior. Utility: Jacob Biesterfeld, Gresham, junior.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

REVIEW FILE PHOTO - Lake Oswego sophomore pitcher Alex Giroux won a place on the Class 6A all-state second team after previously being named Three Rivers League Pitcher of the Year.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine