Charles Biggs resigns after less than a season with wrestling team

The St. Helens Lions’ head wrestling coach Charles Biggs resigned from his position last week, just a couple of weeks prior to the district tournament.

Biggs was hired late last summer to replace retired coach Mike McCoy.

Athletic Director Cyndy Miller said Biggs had submitted his resignation in writing after a meeting with her last week.

While specific reasons for his departure were not given officially, many in the wrestling community said a lack of communication and rapport with the team were issues.

The Lions started the season with around 50 wrestlers signed up for the program. That number quickly deteriorated with Biggs’ tough disciplined workout regimen.

By last Thursday’s match with Sherwood, the team was down to only 13 wrestlers. Some were out with injuries or illness, but just seven varsity wrestlers took to the mat. The Lions forfeited eight matches, and all seven were pinned in the contested matches. St. Helens lost 84-0.

Jeff Timmons, an assistant coach and high school teacher, was named interim coach. Timmons is also just about to begin his first year as varsity baseball coach.

Miller said of the position, “We will actively be seeking a head coach after the season.”

She said Timmons, who has assisted with the program for several years, hasn’t indicated whether he was interested and she wants to give him some time to get through the baseball season. By district policy, the position must be advertised.

She said the resignation has thrown the program into a bit of turmoil.

“There were some hurt feelings each way—some were hurt and some were happy” about the coach leaving, she noted. The plan is to try and salvage what remains of the season and look for a coach that will help build up the program.

The wrestling program has had several long-term coaches over the years, most notably Gordan Jarman and Mike McCoy.

The Lions host Sandy this Thursday in their last dual match of the season.

Match results:

Sherwood 84, St. Helens 0

106—Tristan Bishop (Sh) won by ff.; 113—Justin Hastrich (Sh) pinned Cedric Walters (SH), :25; 120—Alex Vasquez (Sh) pinned Jose Silva (SH), :53; 126—Mikey Coulter (Sh) won by ff.; 132—Riley Castillo (Sh) pinned Michael Bowen (SH), 3:30; 138—Garrett Heckenberg (Sh) pinned Jacob Cottman (SH), 2:42; 145—Evan Castillo (Sh) pinned Brandon Cupp (SH), :39; 152—Nicholas Clarke (Sh) pinned Jon Luttrell (SH), 1:56; 160—Andy Rice (Sh) pinned Andrew Orr (SH), 1:16; 170—James Musser (Sh) won by ff.; 182—Corey Craig (Sh) won by ff.; 195—Ryan Jurgens (Sh) won by ff.; 225—Martin Layna (Sh) won by ff.; 285—Joe Brookhouse (Sh) won by ff.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine