A good turnout of cars and good track conditions make for an exciting night of car racing

by: JOHN BREWINGTON - Good night at the races. Todd Newton of Gladstone (No. 93 above) won his heat and the main event in the Street Stock class at River City Speedway last Saturday. The weather was good, 79 race cars showed, and the conditions were near perfect for car racing at River City Speedway at the Columbia County Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

Greg Lane set a new track record of 12.546 on the quarter-mile track in his mini-sprint racer. That speed carried him to a win in the main event, a trophy dash win, and second in his heat. Lane is from Lake Stevens, Wash.

Bud Russell also had a good night at the track in the premier Sportsman Division. He posted fast time, won the trophy dash, his heat, and the main event, a four-cornered hat trick.

by: JOHN BREWINGTON - New track record. Greg Lane of Lake Stevens, Wash. set a new track record at River City Speedway last Saturday of 12.546 seconds. Lane competes in the Pacific Mini Sprints Division, but the record spans all divisions.The street stock division was more competitive. Gary Meyer of Vernonia recorded the fastest time, but Aaron Prettyman of Warren won the trophy dash. Aaron Snook of Portland won the first heat and Todd Newton of Gladstone won the other heat. The two clashed in the main event with Newton prevailing with the win.

It took three heats to run all the cars in the four-cylinder division. John Oyler of Scappoose had the fast time and Chris Gaboury won the trophy dash. Chris Raybourn of Portland won the first heat, but Crystal Flath of Portland won the second. Gary Brogan of Kelso took first in the third heat. Gaboury would win the main event, with Oyler hot on his wheels. Chris Gaboury, Jr. was third.

The modified division had a smaller field, but still turned in some good racing. Don Jenner of Vancouver had the fast time and won the main event. Jake VanOrtwick of St. Helens won the trophy dash and Don West of Warren won the lone heat.

Ryan Martinez of Scappoose again had the fast time in the dwarf car division, but was second in the trophy dash, and third in second heat. He came back to win the main event. Guy Tow of Rainier won the first heat and Kevin Hicks of Creswell won the second heat.

While Lane dominated the Pacific Mini-Sprint division main event, Tim Pyle of Gresham won the first heat and Josh Pinkowsky of Vancouver won the other heat. Pinkowsky would finish second behind Lane in the main event. Pyle finished farther back in the pack.

Kylee Dorie won the main event in the tracer division.

Racing resumes at the track on Saturday, June 15. They also have races on June 29 and July 6.

River City Results

June 1

Sportsman Division

Fast Time: Bud Russell, St. Helens. 15.385. Trophy Dash: Bud Russell, Brad Beehler, Dan Smith, Devon Reed. 1st Heat: Joel Beehler, Jake VanOrtwick, Steffen Strawn, Ric Fors, Kyle Frelich, Tim Roth, Clyde White. 2nd Heat: Bud Russell, Ray Elwess, Dan Smith, Brad Beehler, Devon Reed

Main: Bud Russell, St. Helens; Ray Elwess, Gresham; Dan Smith, Deer Island; Brad Beehler, St. Helens; Steffen Strawn, Deer Island; Joel Beehler, St. Helens; Devon Reed, Woodland; Ric Fors, Vancouver, Wash.; Kyle Frelich, Warren; Steven Nusom, Gresham; Tim Roth, St. Helens.

Street Stock Division:

Fast Time: Gary Meyer, 15.604; Trophy Dash: Aaron Prettyman, Gary Meyer, Jared Haynes, Stan Asanovich. 1st Heat: Aaron Snook, Mike Crase, Jonathan West, Cody Smith, Dennis Liebig, Ryan White, Gene Potter. 2nd Heat: Todd Newton, Derik Beehler, Aaron Prettyman, Gary Meyer, Callen Prettyman, Stan Asonavich, Jared Haynes.

Main: Todd Newton, Gladstone, Aaron Snook, Portland; Cody Smith, Deer Island; Gary Meyer, Vernonia; Dennis Liebig, St. Helens; Ryan White, Sandy; Mike Crase, Portland; Stan Asanovich, Gaston; Jared Haynes, Scappoose; Derik Beehler, St. Helens; Aaron Prettyman, Warren; Callen Prettyman, St. Helens; Jonathan West, Scappoose; Gene Potter, Rainier.

4-Cylinder Division:

Fast Time: John Oyler, 16.201. Trophy Dash: Chris Gaboury, Danny Asher, Brad Ruth, Chris Gaboury, Jr. 1st Heat: Chris Raybourn, Portland; Chad Blanchfield, Portland; Mason Brooks. 2nd Heat: Crystal Flath, Lisa Oyler, Kim Oyler, John Oyler, Russell Krein, Mike Harrison. 3rd Heat: Gary Brogan, Chris Gaboury, Danny Asher, Brad Ruth, Chris Gaboury, Jr.

Main: Chris Gaboury, Battleground; John Oyler, Scappoose; Chris Gaboury, Jr., Vancouver; Danny Asher, Oregon City; Kim Oyler, Gresham; Brad Ruth, Washougal; Lisa Oyler, Troutdale; Chris Raybourn, Portland; Gary Brogan, Kelso; Mike Harrison, St. Helens; Robyn Ruth, Washougal; Russ Krein, Portland; Chan Blanchfield, Portland; Shelby Fitzgerald, Warren; Crystal Flath, Portland; Cody Dowell, Columbia City; Mason Brooks, Vancouver.

Modified Division:

Fast Time: Don Jenner, 13.992. Trophy Dash: Jake VanOrtwick, Don Jenner, Robert Jenner, Shawn Dorie. Heat: Don West, Shawn Dorie, Don Jenner, Robert Jenner, Sean Fox, Jake VanOrtwick, Brian Blasier, Cody Smith, Walter Prather.

Main: Don Jenner, Vancouver; Robert Jenner, Vancouver; Sean Fox, Rainier; Jake VanOrtwick, St. Helens; Shawn Dorie, Scappoose; Brain Blasier, St. Helens; Cody Smith, Deer Island; Don West, Warren; Walt Prather, St. Helens.

Dwarf Car Division:

Fast Time: Ryan Martinez, 13.929. Trophy Dash: Scott Dorie, Ryan Martinez, Neal Hopwood, Joe Eaton. 1st Heat: Guy Tow, Robert O’Neill, James Brinster, Chris McCleary, Jessica Eaton, Kailia Walter, Dan Coutts. 2nd Heat: Kevin Hicks, Joe Eaton, Ryan Martinez, Lucas Eaton, Chris McCleary, Steve McCleary, Scott Dorie, Neal Hopwood.

Main: Ryan Martinez, Scappoose; Kevin Hicks, Creswell; Scott Dorie, St. Helens; Robert O’Neill, Tide Water; Chris McCleary; Steve McCleary,Aloha; Lucas Eaton, Scappoose; Neal Hopwood, Gresham; James Brinster, St. Helens; Guy Tow, Sr., Rainier; Guy Tow, Jr., Castle Rock; Jessica Eaton, Scappoose; Joe Eaton, Scappoose; Kailia Walter, Salem; Dan Coutts, Onalaska, Wash.

Pacific Mini-Sprints:

Fast Time and New Track Record: Greg Lane, 12.546. Trophy Dash: Greg Lane, Josh Pinkowsky, Tracey Titus, Vinnie Villeggiante. 1st Heat: Tim Pyler, Mike Opoka,Sr., Kalista Ross, Duane Beecher, Mike Opoka, Jr. 2nd Heat: Josh Pinkowsky, Greg Lane, Dan Beck, Bret Lane, Tracey Titus, Vinnie Villeggiante.

Main: Greg Lane, Lake Stevens, Wash.; Josh Pinkowsky, Vancouver; Vinnie Villeggiante, Gresham; Duane Beecher, White Salmon, Wash.; Kalista Ross, Woodland,Wash.; Mike Opoka, Sr.; Mesa, Az.; Dan Beck, Castle Rock, Wash.; Bret Lane, Lynnwood, Wasj.; Tracey Titus, Manzanita; Mike Opoka, Jr., Mesa, Az.; Tim Pyle, Gresham.

Tracer Division:

Fast Time: Jonathan West, 17:686. Dash: Johnathan West, Kylee Dorie. Heat: Johnathan West, Kylee Dorie. Main: Kylee Dorie, St. JOHN BREWINGTON - Heat winner. Crystal Flath of Portland (No. 1) won her heat in the 4-Cylinder DIvision.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine