Scappoose gets five champions in five divisions, Myles Terry (152) remains undefeated for St. Helens

If any doubts were had about Scappoose as a strong challenger to win the 2014 state wrestling title, many of those doubts faded away after the Indians’ showing at the Pac-Rim tournament in Seaside.

Scappoose dominated the field, taking first place overall with 209.5 points ahead of second-pace Estacada, who finished with 158 points. St. Helens took fifth place with 133 points.

Braxton Sue got off to a quick start in the 106 division, winning his first two matches by fall before knocking off Ian Oppenlander of Madras by a 9-6 decision. Sue lost to Astoria’s Colton Walker in the final of the 106 bracket.

Wrestling in the 113 bracket, St. Helens freshman Haidon Allen had a strong tournament, winning two of his four matches by fall inside the first minute of each match. Allen lost a narrow, 7-6 decision to Warren’s Rouge Bergerson in the 113 bracket final. St. Helens’ Jose Silva followed up with a solid showing in the 120 division, finishing in fourth place.

Alex Foumal (126) and Justin Herring (132) of Scappoose each made the semifinals of their respective weight brackets and took fifth place overall. Foumal won by 15-1 technical fall in his fifth place match, and the place was awarded to Herring after his opponent was unable to wrestle.

The Tribe’s Hunter Hoyt waltzed his way through the 145 division, winning twice by technical fall and twice by major decision, including the championship match, where Hoyt got an 11-5 major decision over Alejandro Quintana of Neah-Kah-Nie.

The 152 division, as it has all year long, belonged in the clutches of St. Helens’ Myles Terry. He continued his unbeaten run, including a 9-1 major decision over Scappoose’s Cody Erhart, on his way to yet another perfect tournament.

Only little more than halfway through the finals, the Indians pushed things into high gear. Ben Gadbois stepped up with perhaps his best showing all year, pinning his first three opponents in the 160 bracket and winning 10-3 over Zane Green in the bracket final.

The next bracket belonged to the Indians as well. Junior Jonathan Tardif wrestled his way to the bracket championship, thanks to a first round pin in his first match and comfortable wins by decision in his next three.

Isaiah Goodrich, who will likely remain in the 182 division the rest of the year, absolutely dominated his bracket. After getting a forfeit in his first match, Goodrich put the extra energy to good use, winning by 17-2 technical fall and 11-1 major decision before pinning Nicholas Ledbury of Estacada late in the second round of the 182 bracket final.

Devin Ray fared almost the same for Scappoose in the 220 division. A bye in the first round led to a pair of wins by fall in less than 43 seconds apiece. The bracket championship lasted a little longer, but Ray prevailed with a pin of Astoria’s Josh Raichl after 3:37.

Colton Wheeler of Scappoose and Mario Olmedo of St. Helens narrowly avoided a semifinal bout in the 285 bracket. Wheeler pinned his first opponent, but lost 4-3 in double overtime to Matt MacDonald of Ilwaco. MacDonald lost the resulting match to Olmedo by a tiebreaker, and Olmedo went on to give Astoria’s Manuel Nelson a battle before losing by fall with three seconds left in the final round.

St. Helens wrestling will visit Rex Putnam on Thursday, Jan. 16. Scappoose will travel to the Oregon Classic on Jan. 17-19 at the Deschutes County Fairgrounds & Expo Center in Redmond.

Team results:

1. Scappoose - 209.5

2. Estacada - 158

3. Gladstone - 157.5

4. Madras - 149

5. St. Helens - 133

6. Astoria - 119

7. Seaside - 99.5

8. Knappa - 97

9. Neah-Kah-Nie - 96.5

10. Jefferson (Salem) - 81

Individual Champions:


1st Place - Colton Walker of Astoria

2nd Place - Braxton Sue of Scappoose

3rd Place - Ian Oppenlander of Madras

4th Place - Jacob Sobel of Jefferson


1st Place - Rouge Bergerson of Warrenton

2nd Place - Haidon Allen of St. Helens

3rd Place - Jack Odneal of Ilwaco

4th Place - Rebecca Savage of Neah-Kah-Nie


1st Place - Jacheal McMillon of Gladstone

2nd Place - Michael Alger of Gladstone

3rd Place - Jace Oppenlander of Madras

4th Place - Jose Silva of St. Helens


1st Place - Donald Wenlund of Estacada

2nd Place - Jarred Dupont of Madras

3rd Place - Blake Mcnall of Gladstone

4th Place - Michael Bowen of St. Helens


1st Place - Kyle Kintz of Gladstone

2nd Place - Gaius Hollabaugh of Estacada

3rd Place - Sam Flores of Madras

4th Place - Parker Whitsett of Warrenton

5th Place - Justin Hering of Scappoose


1st Place - Logan Romig of Neah-Kah-Nie

2nd Place - David Ventura of Gladstone

3rd Place - Trask Van Arsdale of Yamhill-Carlton

4th Place - Skigh Thomas of Seaside


1st Place - Hunter Hoyt of Scappoose

2nd Place - Alejandro Quintana of Neah-Kah-Nie

3rd Place - Stone Rathbun of Estacada

4th Place - Tristen Holiday of Astoria


1st Place - Myles Terry of St. Helens

2nd Place - David Kovelda of Vernonia

3rd Place - Chris Whitworth of Knappa

4th Place - Cody Erhardt of Scappoose

5th Place - Wade Nelson of Scappoose


1st Place - Ben Gadbois of Scappoose

2nd Place - Zane Green of Vernonia

3rd Place - Jacob Weidner of Yamhill-Carlton

4th Place - Justin Ruiz of Seaside

5th Place - Logan Brooks of Scappoose

6th Place - Steven Wells of Scappoose


1st Place - Johnathan Tardif of Scappoose

2nd Place - Tom Odneal of Ilwaco

3rd Place - Luke Youngberg of Estacada

4th Place - Billy Montano of Jefferson

5th Place - Adam Taylor of Gladstone

6th Place - Zilen Nichols of St. Helens


1st Place - Isaiah Goodrich of Scappoose

2nd Place - Nicholas Ledbury of Estacada

3rd Place - Logan Good of Gladstone

4th Place - David Adkinson of Clatskanie


1st Place - Michael Bauman of Madras

2nd Place - Dustin Hawkins of Jefferson

3rd Place - Nate Truax of Knappa

4th Place - Jonathon Watt of Seaside


1st Place - Devin Ray of Scappoose

2nd Place - Josh Raichl of Astoria

3rd Place - Levon Schehl of Seaside

4th Place - Troy Martin of Neah-Kah-Nie


1st Place - Manuel Nelson of Astoria

2nd Place - Mario Olmedo of St. Helens

3rd Place - Matt MacDonald of Ilwaco

4th Place - Colton Wheeler of Scappoose

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine