Fire district's annual awards honor firefighters, officers who set examples

The Boring Fire District announced award recipients during its annual banquet in February. Fire department members who have shown exemplary character, work ethic and commitment to service received awards and recognition.

The individuals listed below have demonstrated the ability to work under extreme pressure, and the desire to learn and to teach, said Tammy Owens, speaking for the department.

Top awards are chosen by officers of the Boring Fire District.

Firefighter Josh Miller was selected as rookie of the year, while Leslie Cox and Mike McGuire received honors as firefighters of the year.

Another top award is the officer of the year, and Lt. Rick Searls was selected by the chief officers as the one who sets the pace.

Josh Miller

As a volunteer, Miller participates in public education and outreach, and responded to 577 alarms, making him the top responder for the Eagle Creek station. Miller also serves on the special projects committee. He participated in 101 duty shifts and received 157 hours of training in 2011.

Leslie Cox

Volunteer firefighter Cox participated in many public education and outreach efforts with great work ethic and team-player attitudes. In addition to Cox's many hours of training, he responded to 361 alarms and participated in 73 duty crew shifts.

Mike McGuire

As one of the volunteers, McGuire participated in multiple public education and outreach efforts with what Owens called 'contagious enthusiasm.' McGuire also completed many hours of training, responded to 866 alarms and participated in 108 duty crew shifts.

Lt. Rick Searls

Volunteer Lt. Searls is a station leader and active in station events. He leads by example and is committed to the service of his community. In addition to being volunteer president, he is on two active committees and participates in a special program. He also offers mutual-aid to other fire stations in the area when they are understaffed. Searls also completed numerous hours of training.

Division Chief George Eisert

About a week before dying of pancreatic cancer, Division Chief George Eisert was honored as the 2011 employee of the year.

He is remembered as a positive and fair person who was dedicated to the department and the district he served.

Eisert demonstrated his commitment to Boring Fire and Rescue and the community through his positive can-do attitude.

His professional manner boosted morale, Owens said, and his personable nature inspired others to excel. A fantastic ambassador for the district, Eisert had been very instrumental in the joint volunteer process with the Boring and Clackamas fire districts.

His resolve and steadfastness brought confidence to those around him. Throughout his career George had been involved with a number of national committees, worked on various training manuals and at the time of his death held the position of president of the Oregon Fire Apparatus and Equipment Maintenance Association.

Other awards

The Distinguished Service Award was earned by Ken Naas, who has served in many roles throughout his 50 years with Boring Fire and Rescue.

Naas started as a volunteer firefighter in 1961 and worked his way up to captain. Owens says he continues serving the district as a support member.

Community appreciation awards were earned by Liepold Farms and Timber Pub and Grub for continued support of the Boring Volunteer Firefighters Association.

New officers

Boring and Clackamas fire districts' new volunteer association officers are: Rick Searls, president; Jerry Kearny, vice president; Amy Morrison and Daniel Weisenburg, secretary-treasurer; and Jack Tanz, sergeant at arms.

For more information, call Owen at 503-663-4638.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine