Top middle school runners take to the track for the mile race

by: DAN BROOD - PAST THE CROWD -- Hazelbrook's Brandon Gillard stays focused as he heads down the straightaway during the Beadnell Classic, a mile race held at Fowler Middle School. Gillard won the eighth-grade boys event in a time of 5:07.7. TIGARD — The races were close — and fast.

The weather was near perfect.

And the large, enthusiastic crowd was loud, as it cheered on its favorite racers.

Put it all together, and you come up with fun day on the track at the Beadnell Classic Invitational Mile race, held May 23 at Fowler Middle School.

The event featured the top sixth, seventh and eighth-grade boys and girls mile runners from Fowler, Hazelbrook and Twality middle schools.

by: DAN BROOD - HAPPY VICTOR -- Hazelbrook's Adam Klein celebrates as he crosses the finish line in the seventh-grade boys race at the Beadnell Classic. There was excitement in all of the races, but, maybe the most exciting race was the eighth-grade boys event, where the lead went back and forth throughout the race.

Brandon Gillard of Hazelbrook ended up winning the eighth-grade boys race in a time of 5 minutes, 7.7 seconds, which tied for the fastest mark for the day.

For Gillard, his time was nearly 30 seconds faster than a year ago, when he placed third in the seventh-grade boys race.

Nick Speth of Fowler took second place in this year’s eighth-grade boys race in a time of 5:09.4, making it the closest race of the day. Brett Thomas of Twality was third in a time of 5:17.5.

Also competing in the eighth-grade boys race were Jeremy Stephens, Nick Schloss and Sam Nihill of Fowler, Cole Terhune, Sean MacPherson and Joe Marquez of Hazelbrook and Ryan Kamp and Jonathan Barron-Calderon of Twality.

Alyssa Shavlovskiy of Hazelbrook ran to victory in the eight-grade girls race in a time of 5:57.3. Anna Verloo, also of Hazelbrook, was second in that race with a mark of 6:03.2 and Abby Portwood of Fowler was third in 6:08.2.

Also running in the eighth-grade girls race were Amanda Hegstrom and Kate Intile of Hazelbrook and Kennedy Oleson and Cassidy Thornton of Twality.

In the seventh-grade boys race, Hazelbrook’s Adam Klein, leading from wire to wire, picked up a win in a time of 5:07.7, which tied for the best mark of the day.

Hazelbrook ended up sweeping the top three spots in the seventh-grade boys race. Lucas Noland was second with a mark of 5:24.5 and Zed Linford was third at 5:26.6.

Also running in the seventh-grade race were Peyton Kuffel, Jokob Harrold and Thomas Forsythe of Fowler, Cole Rene of Hazelbrook and Matt Kachlick, Joe Hungerford and Manny Andrade of Twality.

Madilyn Lowry turned in a winning perforamance in the seventh-grade girls race. She triumphed in that event with a time of 5:53.9, which was the fastest girls time of the day.

by: DAN BROOD - SIXTH-GRADE WINNER -- Hazelbrook's Megan MacPherson ran to victory in the sixth-grade girls ace at the Beadnell Classic held at Fowler Middle School. Malia Lundstrom of Twality was second in a time of 5:58.9 and Alie Stroud of Fowler took third place at 6:02.6.

Also competing in the seventh-grade girls race were Lauren McFall and Anna Billings of Fowler, Ashley Ulberg and Maija Gerardi of Hazelbrook and Gabby McGaughey and Makenna Bailey of Twality.

Twality came away with a sweep of the top three spots in the sixth-grade boys race.

Derek Leneve won that event in a time of 5:30.6. Jalen Hale was second at 5:33.4 and Cole Grieb was third with a mark of 5:35.5. Also running in the sixth-grade boys race were Killian Ryan, Tommy Baumann and Bobby Carter of Fowler and Armad Hubbard, Kyle Dernedde and Caden Dixon of Hazelbrook.

Megan MacPherson of Hazelbrook triumphed in the sixth-grade girls race in a time of 5:56.3.

Gabby Brown of Fowler was second in that race with a mark of 6:07.0 and Sydney Garlock of Hazelbrook was third at 6:08.6.

Also running in the sixth-grade girls race were Sydney Leinberger and Samantha Petitt of Fowler, Sarah Hanson of Hazelbrook and Kyleigh Layman, Keara Bingham and Ashley Oliva of Twality.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine